Update on the tree

in #homeowner6 years ago

I have taken to calling it Arnold because just like Schwarzenegger, "He'll be back".

belhambra sprouts.jpg
Ooh, look: sprouts!

The above picture was taken 11 days ago, about 2 weeks after we first got down to cutting. I have seen the previously cut trunk pieces s sprouting because stored water remained in the wood but that didn't amount to anything. I'm not taking any chances though, so off I went and borrowed a chainsaw and cut off the branch-bases that were showing signs of growth and shortened the top stumps. It's still a daunting job when the fully-exposed tree-base is this size. I'd prefer to to try and burn this monster base to avoid days and days of chopping. While the chainsaw works for cutting trunks, all you can do with it on the base is make deep cuts and hope that the scoring will speed up water-loss. There's no cutting this thing.

belhambra base.jpg

10 days after that, I'm daring to say that I see a change in the bark and it actually looks like it is dying off on the parts that I haven't stripped and the stripped sections are growing mould with all this rain.

belhambra base3.jpg

Of course, nothing's stopping the roots from pushing up sprouts but so far there are none. Will there be a sequel? Who knows. What I do know is that I need to get a dryhouse built to protect the smaller plants from hail, yesterday was a good reminder of that and I have earmarked the corner where the tree base is as a suitable spot. It's North-facing and already enclosed on two sides. All I really need to do is make a frame that I can cover with shadecloth on the side and transparent sheeting on top and I'll be set up.

Sort:  

Honestly, what’s left of that tree looks like a giant foot, trying to stomp you into submission!

Haha! Indeed!

I wish you luck with the tree😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you!

Massive root system is storing much food to force growth. Just cutting the sprouts off as they come out will bring this monster to its knees.

Hopefully, but I have trees that were cut down to stumps over 2 years ago and they keep sprouting. Some died after I fixed the drainage and cut their water supplies but I have one that I am going to need to use herbicide on

How frequently do you get hail?

Hard to say, but it is common. There are generally at least 2 or 3 significant hailstorms in a season and quite frequently, there will be a few stones in most of the thunderstorms which characterise our rainfall

It sounds like much more than we get.

Congratulations @nikv! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Trees tend to survive at all costs. Nature gave them a large margin of safety and strength.

That is true. It takes persistence to get rid of a tree

This tree isn't giving up. Geez! The sprouts are suppossed to be the same type of tree or just another random fungus?

Same tree

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60171.52
ETH 2421.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46