The Homeopaths are coming - and we are not afraid!

in #homeopathy6 years ago (edited)

closed down.jpg

Too long have we homeopaths lurked under the radar of what we can, but mostly can’t say, in terms of our beloved therapy. Personally, in practice, I have seen some astounding results using this traditional form of medicine, some that I have shared in my past blogs.
At a time when conventional medicine is failing many people, homeopathy deserves to have its say, its time is NOW.

When I blog someones case, or publish their testimonial, it is because homeopathy has helped that person, these are genuine and honest accounts of real life responses to treatment. It does not mean that every person suffering in a similar way or with a similar condition will benefit from the same form of treatment, but the potential is there, and it has a right to be in the public domain. People have a right to choose what they can access and research, to be allowed to form their own opinion. If we Homeopaths are constantly smacked down by the regulating bodies then this is not freedom of speech. If Homeopathy is a load of old quackery, let the public find that out for themselves, no publicity is bad publicity, and there is no smoke without fire. People need to be given the option.

lion.jpg

Before I knew any better, I went to my GP with my son, for a chest infection. The GP prescribed antibiotics and told me that they would clear his chest. They didn’t, neither did the subsequent course that also came with a “With this antibiotic you will see an improvement” promise. Where is the regulation here? The drugs didn’t work, they were falsely advertised to me and actually had really unpleasant side effects, which weren’t mentioned either. Why is there no regulation in the consulting room of a GP? Luckily I saw an amazing homeopath who sorted that chest infection quickly!

In my quest to see what a medical practitioner (of any modality) should say and not say about their treatment, I took a look at the Hippocratic Oath, based on the principles of Hippocrates, taken from an ancient greek medical text, the modern day translation had the following excerpts that interest me:

‘I will respect the hard-won scientific gains of those physicians in whose steps I walk, and gladly share such knowledge as is mine with those who follow’ I will share my patients success stories with whoever wants to read about them. Homeopathy is owed a place in the public domain where honest and positive accounts of treatment can be freely accessed. There is plenty of scientific studies showing its efficacy.
https://www.britishhomeopathic.org/evidence/the-evidence-for-homeopathy/

‘I will apply, for the benefit of the sick, all measures that are required, avoiding those twin traps of overtreatment and therapeutic nihilism” This is a good one, therapeutic nihilism being the idea that many medications do more harm than good and that the body should be supported and encouraged to heal itself, a few less pointless antibiotics prescriptions for viral infections and a bit more homeopathy maybe?!
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/11224838
http://www.echamp.eu/news-and-events/news/homeopathy-may-help-reduce-the-use-of-antibiotics-in-urtis

‘I will prevent disease whenever I can, for prevention is preferable to cure’ A no brainer really, and again if the previous principle is upheld, and we avoid therapeutic nihilism then the body is far better equipped to function without being under additional stress of western medicine.Homeopathy aims to support the body in the most gentle way, using non suppressive treatments.

This oath makes no reference to promising cures but I believe the general advice is that doctors and patients may not enter into a contract which promises a cure. So how come this happens? As a homeopath I would never claim to cure, even retrospectively! I promise to do my best and treat my patient with respect and confidentiality. I never ask them to come off of their medications and always encourage them to speak to their GP if they wish to stop their drugs.

Personally, I don’t feel under attack from anyone, I go about my day doing what I can, when I can. I will always be transparent in my reporting of cases and testimonials. I respect honesty and integrity and this is why I won’t shy away from sharing how powerful homeopathy is.

For the public, make up your own mind, if you choose to do so.

We homoeopaths are not big phamas, we are the do no harmers. This is our Oath.

Photo by Marco Bianchetti on Unsplash
Photo by Isabella Jusková on Unsplash

Sort:  

I think it’s over labelling isn’t it? I’ve seen it in the news this week. Will have to watch and wait I guess. I don’t know how it will affect things but I’m not going to start panicking yet

I feel like big pharma has a hand behind this push but I agree, will have to watch and wait.

@tracywhite. Yes and yes again. Resteemed.

Thank you! You put an E in my @name. Dunno if that makes a difference to anything? X

Thanks Anne. Just got riled by that post on HPB about fear surrounding testimonials and unsubstantiated claims yesterday 😂

@tracywhite I thought that. You worded it very well. Totally agree

Love it Tracy, I will shave this on my page if that is ok. Your lion says it all. Great quote!

Thank you @marygreensmith feel free to share it. X

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66267.02
ETH 3282.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70