Shoe Making Adventure at the John C. Campbell Folk School

in #homemaking7 years ago

Hi Everyone,

I am just wanting to post some pictures of my first attempt at making my own shoes by hand. This class I attended was a few years ago in a magical place at the base of the Appalachian Mountains in Brasstown, North Carolina, called the John C. Campbell Folk School.

I spent 5 days learning how to draw up plans for making my own boot moccasins with several other lovely ladies. Everything was by hand, and definitely a slow process. We cut, glued, sewed our shoes while getting to know each other in a rural setting.

Since I have a ton of photos from this visit, I will have more posts about this magical school. If I wasn't married I would definitely consider moving closer to this gem. A little piece of my heart is still there.

~all photos taken by meDSC03256.jpg


DSC03258.jpg


DSC03259.jpg


DSC03270.jpg


DSC03271.jpg


DSC03272.jpg


DSC03275.jpg


DSC03323.jpg


DSC03329.jpg


DSC03332.jpg


DSC03338.jpg


DSC03444.jpg

Sort:  

Wow! This is so cool @yoginiofoz. I love the craft of shoemaking. I think it must be so rewarding to make your own shoes because they fit perfectly to your feet, how awesome is that! I don't think many people know this, or maybe I'm assuming that.

I would definitely make myself at least 5 pairs of sandals. I also did this course on Skillshare about shoemaking and it was pretty easy and straight to the point, unfortunately, I can't get any of the materials to make these gems were I live.

I think you have great material, enough to make a tutorial out of all this, what do you think? Let me know if you create that tutorial please, just upvoted and I will be following you. Best wishes!

Thanks for stopping by and commenting @creativista. I plan on making several posts about the school I attended while making these shoes. I can try to make a tutorial although it has been a few years. I will try to find my notes and see what I can come up with. I just found a few places where I can purchase the soles for my shoes....so hopefully I will be making more soon.

Take care!

I would love to learn to do this! This is one thing most of the survival/ homesteading/prepping people tend to forget about.

Shoes are very important! As I make more, I will definitely post what I learn. Thanks for stopping by @fernowl13.

Yes, please do post more. If you write something up as sort of a how to, I will gladly add it to the Sotall directory of posts. It is exactly the type of info that needs to be shared with the world!

I have a lot to learn but I will be happy to share. :-)

Great looking Mocs. I too would love to go to the John Campbell art school and learn to make useful items. Thanks for the post. 🐓🐓

Thanks for stopping by @mother2chicks!

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Thank you @gaman!

Sooo nice, please post more about it, you can give us more details of the making off and step by step.. at least I’ll loved it. Great work by the way. Regards from Venezuela..

I will try and find my notes with the class. Maybe I can get a tutorial together over the weekend. Thanks for stopping by and commenting @anabellaelvir from Venezuela!

Shoe are very important for us.It is very interesting learning which you learn...

Thanks for saying so @cryptostyle. Have a great day!

Those are beautiful! I have always wanted to attend sessions at the John Campbell Folk School. I have heard it is amazing! Wonderful post! Thank you, following now for future posts!

The hardest part is CHOOSING which class to take from their extensive catalog. I MUST go back soon. Thanks for your kind comments....have a great day @birdsinparadise.

P.S. I do hope you get to go!

They turned out much better looking than I would have expected, but the main thing is they work.

Okay, thanks (?). What were you expecting?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 64451.72
ETH 2628.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81