The Blue Handquilted Pillowcase - My Recycling Art

in #homemaking6 years ago

Title 1.JPG

Hello all Steemians!

Lately, I felt the urge to do something with both my hands other than gardening and cooking, but both hands are hopeless as I am suffering from my rheumatism. I never thought that it would hit me right after the first year of retirement… All the pain come and go and I could not do anything except to take pain reliever when the pain is really persistent. I used to make a lot of craftings particularly for the interior of my home.

I have an array of projects contained in a list to do which have been done for a couple of years and until now, only a few had been done. At the moment, it is difficult for me to start a project… so I will be sharing an old project that I did which is this blue pillowcase that I also hand-quilted.

One of my passions is collecting pillowcases…and this collection has vintage as well as hand-down pillowcases from hubby´s family and some were crocheted or quilted by me. My blue hand-quilted pillowcase was actually made out of fabric scraps from a headboard (see above image) I designed for the guest bedroom. The room I decorated is small and I think a blue and white scheme is perfect for it.

template.jpg

As for the hand-quilting part, I used the quilt template I found in a quilting book, have it enlarged at the copy shop and cut the template and transfer it to the fabric by using a magic pen. The ink will become invisible later on particularly when the pillowcase is washed.

blue 2.JPG

This blue pillowcase was made as my gift to mom in-law on Mother´s Day a few years back when she had a blue sofa. The strips that framed the quilted center came from an English stripe fabric from a curtain shop. I just cut it according to the line of the stripe and out of those strips I made the floral print as sort of a frame for the quilted center of the pillowcase.

blue 3.JPG

Mom in law, had been so happy because the blue color complimented the light blue sofa. When she gave away the blue sofa, this pillowcase came back to me because her new sofa was in grey color. Lol, perhaps conveying to me that I should make another project to suit the new grey sofa.

blue 4.JPG

I´m wishing everyone a nice weekend!

Proud Member
STEEMIT POWERUP.PH
Follow @steemitpowerupph

Footer Mers SPP.gif

Content and images on this post are original and are properties of the author. If you would like to use any of the photos from this post, please give source credits by linking the URL of this post in your content.

Footer.gif

GIFs by @gremayo

Sort:  

This is so beautiful! I pray that your pain will be relieved so that you can continue to do.more of your crafts. I also feel the pain in my fingers... sign of...

Hahaha... Indeed my friend... these are signs of... Take care dear and thanks!

Nice work mam.
I like to do handwork at home.I already learn many things.
I enjoy your work....

Wow, this is a nice blue, so good for the eyes, it is calming and the design is so pretty. I love the side timmings that is like framing the quilted center.

You are a craft master and you seem to be very good in designing to create such a beautiful piece . Keep it up I would like to see more!

Wow! Two thumbs up! Craft Master @mers...hurot gyud along bilib...

Wow beautiful output! Gagaling ung rayuma mo sis.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65364.69
ETH 2650.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86