You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Researching Homelessness in Houston: A Week in Pictures

What an amazing post for an awesome project that you're doing! I'm so glad that @matkodurko featured you in his curation contest entry so that I could find such awesomeness. I hope you get plenty of support and help answer some of the questions people still have regarding homelessness.

I've been through this cycle a couple of times, the most recent was the most challenging with young children and a time-limit at the homeless shelter - in an area with inadequate low-income housing. I had to travel from Spokane to Wyoming just to find housing - I was lucky to receive help from my church or I couldn't have got there.

In my experience, there's lots of help - as long as you've got a car, the right job skills, addictions, etc. In other words, if you don't fall into specific categories, there's not much. Lots of free food, clothing, help finding work, but little help with housing.

Sort:  

@viking-ventures I'm glad to hear you were able to get back on your feet. Many homeless folks aren't willing to move. You were, and it sounds like it has paid off in this new city. I hope to find other ways, as well, to decrease the total number of homeless.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62471.79
ETH 2621.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56