You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Not providing housing for the homeless is a human rights violation...

in #homelessness6 years ago

howdy there friendly-fenix! great post here, very thought provoking. I think that would be wonderful to provide tiny houses, I mean how much could that cost if it's a good solution with the problem growing worse everyday?

Sort:  

Hello @janton I managed to provoke a discussion on international law, ha ha, not my intention.
But I learned a lot from that...

But my core message, is/was that we could fix this problem easily, it wouldn't be very glamorous but,
you could easily utilise something like this:
52bcb98f-d493-4a36-85d6-8b0b9c83d202_1.bcec04d2d0c7883017b0c9833d21402f.jpeg
Look at this shed from walmart it costs: $1,209.99

It's large enough for adult to install a small bunk bed and som electricity, maybe even solar and a battery.
we could create smaller "community areas" like this, scattered through out a city (to prevent a large shanty-town) with lets say ten of these remodeled "shelters/sheds" and a communal shower bathroom to keep things sanitary and maybe a communal kitchen, and have a security guard drop by every now and then just to see that everyone was safe?

Plant some nice rosebushes and apple trees and maybe a small communal garden.

What do you think?

Well sir, that's as good an idea as I've ever seen that's for sure. I don't why something like that wouldn't work. I was shocked to see the large numbers of homeless in Minneapolis I think it was, how do they keep from freezing in the winter?

Not sure I guess we will find out, some of the tents looked like they had wood burning stoves. And I guess if they use sheepskins, multiple layers of sleeping bags, mylar-survival blankets, warm clothes etc... They could probably survive until Christmas, not sure how cold it gets in Jan, Feb... 😕 The whole thing feels quite horrendous...
/FF

yes sir friendly-fenix it sounds like a nightmare to me but alot of homeless people refuse to go to shelters and instead want to live on the streets and that aspect of it has always had me wondering too!

Yeah, I understand how you are thinking @janton, I used to think the same way.

But a homeless-shelter is not a home, try visiting a "mission" and pretend to be homeless one night, at firsts its pretty cool cause you get free food and there is a nice priest holding a sermon, but then it gets sketchy, you have to sleep in a very large room on a potentially infected mattress or blanket, surrounded by many other homeless people, some who might not be mentally stable or even dangerous violent offenders on the run or something, and you have no privacy, things go missing...

So I can understand why some people just decide to "camp out somewhere", also some of the homeless people are so crazy that they don't even know what planet their on so I guess they just end up where ever...

Others just want to take their drugs in some secluded place, where no one will bother them...

I know about this because I have done some months of volunteering at a Christian charity feeding homeless people.

This interview that @feodoraonmyhead just published pretty much answer your question:

I get it friendly-fenix, I was just saying that it's much more complex than most people think but I'll watch this interview sometime, my internet service was off for 9 hours today so I'm WAY behind!

@janton

OMG hours, how was it?
I bet you got a lot of things done as of household work and such?
I hate when the internet "goes away", but it's a good opportunity to clean and such...
=)

/FF

howdy today friendly-fenix! yes sir, I did get alot of stuff done but it wasn't as fun! lol. Then after I sent that reply to you it went off again for another 1.5 hours so I'm still behind.
Is your service reliable there? We're out in the country so we have very few choices.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65641.09
ETH 3479.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50