You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Researching Homelessness in Houston: A Week in Pictures

in #homelessness6 years ago

Wow thank you so much for doing this in the first place, and sharing it here. I first read about a similar housing oriented approach to homelessness in Utah, another place where you wouldn't necessarily think of progressive attitudes. Very interested to read more about what you are doing, in particular the survey. Cheers

Sort:  

@carlgnash thanks you, and yes, Utah was a key founder of the housing first model. I wouldnt call it "Progressive" just smart problem-solving, and it works there (I believe) because they had been more conservative leading up to this. Similar to Houston. In a place like Seattle or even my city of Minneapolis, housing the homeless is more difficult. It has to do with culture. Ill explain it all in my series:) Or, heck, Im happy to do so here, as well, if youre interested in hearing more.

I know that the rational behind housing first is more economic than anything else but I would still describe a housing first approach as progressive even if the actors are on the conservative political spectrum. I am in Eugene and political climate here probably pretty similar to Seattle, although at the city government level there has been coordinated warfare on homeless people downtown for several years now with a series of poorly thought out and implemented regulations aimed at keeping homeless people out of downtown. E.g. banning all dogs (except service animals) from downtown was a recent attempt with the logic that many homeless people have dogs. That one was quickly abandoned. Another recent one was banning sleeping on public property period, at any time of day or night, I believe that one was actually challenged in court (or maybe just the threat of lawsuit) but was quickly dropped. EDIT I have to add on the sad side that there is also an established and well documented subculture within the police here that engage in homeless beating as sport.

It seems indicative that a city as friendly toward the homeless as Seattle has been would be passively-aggressive toward them. It also seems this is the problem with ill-defined policy and approach. Houston is actually very generous with the homeless in providing dorn rooms. But they also profess to be clearer on drawing the line on what theyll allow the homeless to get away with. I wouldn't expect much to change regarding homelessness in Seattle and other cities led by similar ideology. The culture nurtures dependency. I appreciate the comment. I didnt know about those ordinances passed in Seattle.

No the city ordinances were in Eugene, Oregon (my area). You mentioned Seattle and I think (speaking generally) Seattle and Eugene are pretty similar politically, but I have no knowledge about city level ordinances there.

@carlgnash Oh, got it. Okay, thank for the clarification!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62471.79
ETH 2621.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56