[Homeless] Daily Update #5 - (Day 6 - Waterlogged, Determined, Need Your Vote for #teemnomad!)

in #homeless7 years ago (edited)

Waterlogged

So last night it rained all night long, viscous downpour with howling wind. Needless to say my poor little tent was not prepared for the deluge and the condensation has everything soaking wet this morning. With that said, I have had to re-evaluate my situation and make alternate plans.

Determined

Never being one to give up I am more Determined than ever to survive and thrive. However, I must face reality. Camping in a tent in the middle of nowhere is not a long term solution. I wished it was, but in a tent it just isn't. So I am going to pack up my campsite today and head into Denver. It is the closest town with Storage Units, Truck Stops (so I can get a shower when I need one) and work. I just hope my old crappy van doesn't completely let me down.

The plan is simple: Make it to Denver, put a bunch of my stuff in a small (cheap) storage locker so I can sleep in my van (instead of a tent) and then find somewhere to park where I won't be hassled or van towed away. Then start looking for some kind of work so I can get me a better vehicle/home and save up a little money before I start traveling again.

Need your vote for #teemnomad

This experience has afforded me the chance to make lots of new friends (mostly on Steemit) and I realized there are a lot of people who are in similar situations to mine. So I want to start a Discord Channel over on the PAL network called #teemnomad.

#teemnomad will be a place for people who are homeless, camping, living in their vehicles, traveling around by foot, etc. to congregate, exchange stories, share their experiences, help each other and get the support they need from a community of like minded individuals.

In order to start #teemnomad channel on PAL network I need 15 people to comment below something like:

I would love to join #teemnomad, my discord username is: whateveryourusernameondiscordisgoeshere!

Update #1

Much to my surprise my old craptastic Ford van made it over Vail summit and into Denver. I am now at the TA Truck Stop in West Denver (Wheat Ridge, CO). I am gonna have some real food and figure out my next step.

"Freedom is living, living isn't freedom!" - by Richard Colbert (aka @venuspcs)

DQmTvsJsWMLG1nA4CA77osbpML51CaxmrHWsCGa6enQCmAW_1680x8400.png

DQmRhDtjokAZnGKi4QwheqksKTFo6m4fsjMYsNNrsitC1xk.gif

DQmTvsJsWMLG1nA4CA77osbpML51CaxmrHWsCGa6enQCmAW_1680x8400.png

I am a proud supporter of minnowsupportproject (aka minnowsupport), if you haven't already joined check them out over on their Discord Channel by clicking below:

U5drWMHTzho28CV1Lm6Awwys14VUvHq.gif

Sort:  

Well done post You deserve for getting Upvote from me. I appreciate on it and like it so much . Waiting for your latest post. Keep your good work and steeming on. Let's walk to my blog. I have a latest post. Your upvote is high motivation for me. Almost all Steemians do their best on this site. Keep steeming and earning.

This comment has received a 0.20 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @hamzaoui.

I forgot about th van being full of you stuff. I'm betting you make into Denver in that hot mess of a van. @venuspcs, what a crazy adventure this has become and I can't wait to see Denver. I pulled into Denver with my van behind me. Richard, Steem On and Go Broncos!

Are you in Denver?

I'm in California my friend.

Oh man, you have to watch Colorado. It will slip up on you and kick your rear when you least expect it. Usually at night, in a tent, in the middle of nowhere and pouring down rain. Good Luck on your adventure Venuspcs.

It sounds like a great idea, I will be in when I get my van :)

Then join PAL Discord channel and comment to this post with:

I would love to join #teemnomad, my discord username is: rufaz!

I would love to join #teemnomad, my discord username is: lol...he knows who I am ...if he don't...then I don't know him as little as i think I do...FTRs! ;p

Not livin the street life these days but I was 10 years the vagabond after getting out of the navy...half a life time ago. I support the effort so will do as asked.

People gotta know they be loved...good initiative.

And I have two old ford pick ups...they'll out live me I expect...so I never doubted your van...was the rubber that had me worried...in the mountains...bin there done that. You hear of the Coke in BC?

See you in the nomad bar 'n grill @venuspcs ;)

peace out...in

Hello, Sounds like a terrible night. I hope it was not too cold on top of the rain but it is Colorado. I up voted you but my vote doesn't count for much yet. i do hope you find something. If i was close by, i would lend a hand. I am following you because I could easily be in your position and I want to see you succeed. i wish you the best. Keep Steaming ahead!

Here bro I support

I would love to join #teemnomad, my discord username is: joedirt

I would love to join #teamnomad, my discord chat username is gre3n.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58447.77
ETH 3173.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43