[Homeless] Daily Update #4 - (Day 5 - Got a good nights sleep and clear head!)

in #homeless7 years ago (edited)

A new day is upon me!

So in my last post I updated you all on my camping situation. I found a great little spot right on the banks of the Eagle River between Eagle, CO and Wolcott, CO. It is beautiful here, with amazing views and the whooshing of the rapids is really nice for sleeping. It is a brisk 51 degrees this morning with winds from 5-20 mph (yeah a little chilly). I haven't seen any wild life yet, except for the occasional fish jumping in the rapids. It has given me a chance, though, to clear my head and focus on the future. So this post will be about my immediate plans and short term plans.

Yesterday I started a partial power down. I will be holding these funds (as they come in) until I have enough to buy me a Small RV or Small School bus I can convert to an RV and get it on the road. While tent camping is fun, it is extremely limiting. I can't go anywhere or do anything with out packing up my campsite. Plus my poor old van (Pictured below) is on it's last leg and repairing it will cost more than buying something better.

Ideally I will be able to acquire something like this: https://denver.craigslist.org/cto/6211959763.html

To replace my current ride:

IMG_20170707_131523.jpg

Many people on Steemit have suggested that I cancel all my Delegations (take back all the SP I have loaned out) and do a full power down to get back on my feet. To be honest, the thought did cross my mind so I wanted to explain why that is a bad idea (why I am not doing it).

  • I have always tried to help others, even when I didn't have much to offer.
  • Prior to me starting to loan out SP (delegating sp) I had 200 some odd followers and my posts were averaging less than $5 a post.
  • The SP I have delegated has already helped thousands of Steemians make more money on their posts and comments via Curation from those I delegated to.
  • My largest delegations are to #minnowsupport and #msp-lovebot and help hundreds of Steemians every day.
  • Taking back my SP and Powering Down would leave me weak in the steemit community, my votes would be worthless (curation) and my payouts would also decrease. Some decreases from self-voting being worthless and some from those who rebel against me for pulling my SP and/or Powering Down.

So I will not be pulling my SP or doing a Full Power Down. Instead I am going to trust that Steemit and the many wonderful people here will continue to offer their support while I endeavor to transition into a new career as a writer and photographer.

Begging, not really but Donations are graciously accepted!

I do not like to take handouts and never have. Hence the reason I have made (and will not make) any efforts to get Food Stamps or other government assistance. I will not go to a shelter, food bank, soup kitchen or anything else. It isn't a matter of pride, or even fear. It is just I like to earn my way. I believe that my writing and photographs (videos) are an inspiration to others and I choose to earn my living doing something that makes me happy.

Writing for Steemians around the world makes me happy. Being one with nature and taking photographs and videos and posting them on Steemit makes me happy. So I will keep doing these things.

If any of you wish to Donate to my efforts and help me keep doing what I love (and hopefully you love what I am doing) then please use one of the options below:

  • BTC (Bitcoin) - 1P63rJr7Kci38Xu6PuUYCmKx4vJ1kqQmmN
  • Steem - Registered Account: bittrex - Memo: 8008998246974ff4839
  • SBD - Registered Account: bittrex - Memo: dba3ca498ed645e9bac
  • ETH (Etherium) - 0x12542919d04e4fea4afec96335fc876d1c3ea667
  • ETC (ETH Classic) - 0x102718bcd2c53b1aa2fb5e5ac2aec1caf3dda51b
  • LTC (Litecoin) - LgLGhywZ17zGJjsaY77Ami5yvBe6zDoTzQ
  • Paypal - [email protected]

If you need some other option for making a donation please let me know: [email protected] or (251) 458-1038 (text message preferable as I loose internet if I am talking on the phone).

Video's

I would love to be able to post more video's, but sadly doing it via Cellphone is horrific at best. Once I get into something I can drive I will start shooting more vids and then finding WiFi somewhere to upload them. I am hoping to get a drone and GoPro once I get me a better vehicle/rv/bus so I can do even better videos for my fellow Steemians.

Update #1

A special thanks goes out to all those who have supported me and continue to do so; whether with your votes and resteems or through your generation donations. I appreciate each and everyone of you!

Update #2

"Freedom is living, living isn't freedom!" - by Richard Colbert (aka @venuspcs)

DQmTvsJsWMLG1nA4CA77osbpML51CaxmrHWsCGa6enQCmAW_1680x8400.png

DQmRhDtjokAZnGKi4QwheqksKTFo6m4fsjMYsNNrsitC1xk.gif

DQmTvsJsWMLG1nA4CA77osbpML51CaxmrHWsCGa6enQCmAW_1680x8400.png

I am a proud supporter of minnowsupportproject (aka minnowsupport), if you haven't already joined check them out over on their Discord Channel by clicking below:

U5drWMHTzho28CV1Lm6Awwys14VUvHq.gif

Sort:  

I don't have much to give, I will continue to support your posts till the end dear friend. I have shared your story with people I know and it touched their hearts and they wish you well. I pray for everything in your life to do better! Cheers!

I'm jealous my friend. I would love to be out there in that wilderness. Steem On!

Seriously, It makes me wanna travel sooo bad.

Hey @venuspcs Just sent a little gift to your paypal buddy. Thanks for all your doing for Steemit and it's minnows!

thank you for your generosity despite of.....

I was super happy being homeless so to speak. The Earth became my home and it was refreshing. I never felt richer. I started backpacking were ever the wind took me. Literally some days, As I'm a sailor and people all over the world love company on long trips. Usually pay for food and entry fees to other counrty's.
Anyway, I'm trying to do some choirs hehe gotta go
Cheers my friend
Good luck in all you do :-)

your generous heart leads you astray!!!

You will have to do what is right in your heart. Good luck no matter what you decide. If you acquire a bus you can give rides for some funds.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jul 11. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $20.19 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 11 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

i spent the better part of 10 years living homeless. it's rough. out in the wilderness is nice but it has it's own headaches when it comes to supplies and the forest service but when your out there it really does just feel like you're camping. the urban gig though.....that will break you if you stay out there long enough. you get treated like an untouchable all the time anyway but in the city it's impossible to ignore. i wish you the best. if you ever need any tips let me know. i did learn a lot from the experience

Resteemed, hopefully that matters. God bless!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00