[Homeless] Daily Update #12 - (Day 8 - Dinner, Meetup, Family Time!)

in #homeless7 years ago

Dinner

Yesterday I had my first (and second) ever meetup from an online meeting to a real world one. The first person I met yesterday was @matthewviii and his adorable to youngest daughters (of 4). Today I while on the way to Boulder I called him to see if he wanted to ride out there with me since I was going to be driving right through Westminster (where him, his wife and 4 daughters live). He declined but him and his wife invited me for dinner.

On the way from Boulder back to Westminster I was a little early (told to arrive anytime after 3pm) so I decided to hit up a pawn shop and see if I could find a good but cheap digital camera. My previous job had, much to my surprise, actually paid me today (although it wasn't what I was owed) so flush with a little cash I decided to shop. The very first pawn shop I went to had a Canon EOS Rebel T3 with 18/55 mm lens. Quickly I googled the camera and read the specs....1080p@30fps video, 12.2 megapixel stills images, auto zoom, auto focus.....this was what I needed. The first listing that came up was a used one on Amazon for over $400. I looked down at the price tag on the camera and was blown away when I saw $165. I was so shocked I did something I never do, I whipped out my credit card and paid what they were asking with no bickering.

Then I headed the 5 miles on over to Matthew's house and arrived to find his two youngest daughters playing in the front yard (the ones I met yesterday). They immediately started talking to me like I was their Uncle or Older Brother. Immediately I relaxed, pushed the social anxiety deep into a crevasse and proceeded into the house. Upon my arrival the wife and 2nd oldest daughter where not home. So Matt and I had hung for a bit with his two youngest, anxiously awaiting the arrival of Chef Wife.

After almost 5 hours of hanging out, enjoying a nice dinner and getting to know Matt, his wife and three daughters I thanked them for their hospitality, took a quick photo with Matt and made my leave. While I did make sure I got everyone's names I must confess I forgot them all before my van was even cranked....well except for the next to youngest daughter "Winter".....I mean who the hell would forget that name?

IMG_20170714_193026648[1].jpg
Matt and I both trying to take pictures at same time.....aren't we clowns!

When I got out to my van I grabbed my new (used) camera and snapped this pic while showing it off to Matt. That is a front door of a multi-level (split level) house that him and his family reside in.

IMG_2672.JPG

As I was leaving his neighborhood I stopped at a stop sign and quickly snapped these pics with the Canon of the Eastern Slopes of the Rocky Mountains.

IMG_2686.JPG

IMG_2687.JPG

IMG_2688.JPG

IMG_2689.JPG

IMG_2690.JPG

I am very grateful to @matthewviii and his family for making me feel welcome and inviting me into their home for dinner. While I am largely at peace with my current situation little gestures like theirs definitely brighten my day and give additional hope in these trying times.

DQmTvsJsWMLG1nA4CA77osbpML51CaxmrHWsCGa6enQCmAW_1680x8400.png

If you are a traveler, homeless, vagabonding, couchsurfing or just have the spirit of a Nomad then join us over at #teemnomad on PAL Discord here: https://discord.gg/SgJfQkH

"Freedom is living, living isn't freedom!" - by Richard Colbert (aka @venuspcs)

DQmTvsJsWMLG1nA4CA77osbpML51CaxmrHWsCGa6enQCmAW_1680x8400.png

DQmRhDtjokAZnGKi4QwheqksKTFo6m4fsjMYsNNrsitC1xk.gif

DQmTvsJsWMLG1nA4CA77osbpML51CaxmrHWsCGa6enQCmAW_1680x8400.png

I am a proud supporter of minnowsupportproject (aka minnowsupport), if you haven't already joined check them out over on their Discord Channel by clicking below:

U5drWMHTzho28CV1Lm6Awwys14VUvHq.gif

Sort:  

@venuspcs, it's amazing how much Steemit is growing, and soon you'll be able to crash at someone's home in Mexico or maybe way down in Argentina.

Matt and family are very kind, and may their generosity pay tenfold. Steem On!

Good find on that camera!

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jul 15. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $10.97 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 15 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Amazing man! Hope you conquer all you want for! #minnowsupport

Man that is a steal of a deal on that camera. You could probably use that camera for another year or two and get back what you paid for it! Best of luck.

Hopefully, I will be able to buy an even better one in a few months and sell this one for more than what I paid!

That's what I was going to say, but wasn't sure how eager you were to take pictures get a new/better camera. IF you stick with Cannon you may even just keep the lens and sell the camera for as much or more than what you paid.

yeah you guys are clown. Hahaha 😝

how nice you got a real good price for the camera 😉!

And of course, such a memorable dinner too!

Friends for keep.like you @venuspcs

Congratulations @venuspcs! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

2 in 1 combination served !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66109.31
ETH 3290.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71