Flip flops for the homeless

in #homeless7 years ago

flip flops smaller.jpg

Probably weeks or now a few months ago we received a box full of women’s shoes as donation for our homeless clothing drive. Sometimes brain-fart level ignorance finally leaves me; how could I not realize until now after weeks of having so many leftover shoes…homeless don’t wear high heels!

IMG_20170513_113358.jpg

Last Saturday during the giveaway I had a few requests and mentions of flip flops, so I decided I’ll at least buy a few, it is summer afterall and its hot living on the streets. So I looked online, maybe I could find some cheap Chinese ones on eBay and wait a few weeks for them to arrive from Hong Kong. I try to look some up but get frustrated wading through all the bullcrap online like flip flop keychain rings, seriously?!.

Not a day or two later I stumble into good ol’ Grocery Outlet doing some rare shopping, though it’s my favorite store for the prices and I try to buy mostly whole foods, I haven’t been shopping much with how much food I get from my thriving garden.

What do I come across but some real cheap flip flop sandals! And just at the right time because they appear to be running out. I can’t help but get a good selection of sizes and men’s and women’s. For real, they’re only $2 to $4 each! This truly is bargain basement pricing! It was $59.21 saved on my full bill, thank you bargain market!
GC logo.jpg
cheap prices.jpg
GC savings.jpg
IMG_0492.JPG

I'm sure we'll have some excited faces next time and can exchange some sandals for shoes to keep until winter when they'll want to exchange sandals for shoes :)IMG_20170513_124248.jpg

  • Matty Lee from Ukiah, CA

Sharing Society's ultimate goal is not to provide handouts but to build and connect local communities, recycle/reuse and facilitate person to person exchange of 2nd hand goods.

Visit our site: SharingSociety.org, signup for updates, donate and learn more

Sort:  

The longer you do this the more you realise that you've memorised surplus/outlet/discount grocer prices.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68887.40
ETH 3743.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67