Help out where you fit in

in #homeless7 years ago

I’ve been contemplating an idea for a while, but only asked around here and there for others to join me. Saturday I posted my idea to help some local homeless to a work chat group. I got 3 other people jumping at the chance to help. Sunday morning everyone showed up to my house with supplies to hand out and nothing to gain.
130C7E1B-6244-4F46-A583-1CFBFEB0C63C.jpeg

After a recent betrayal by the person closest to me, I decided to direct my pain and anger. If I didn’t, I would just let the anger and pain take my energy. I could take a dark, destructive road like the person that hurt me, or I could choose to focus my energy on helping others.

My comrades and I went out to feed homeless people and provide them needed supplies. More than that, we wanted to show them some humanity. It’s easy to look right past a homeless person, you don’t want to give them booze or drug money. That refusal to acknowledge takes some dignity though. We wanted to fix that so we talked with them. We showed them that we saw them as more than a pile of trash, leeching off the system.

Now we’re sharing that story with others. How can we better serve them? Are there better questions we could ask? Are there some things you’d like to see us ask or topics to bring up next weekend?

Leave a comment with any ideas or thoughts you night have. If you’re in Honolulu and want to contribute, we’re looking for supplies to donate. We don’t give cash or anything like that because we don’t wan to support the coping habits, but want to support the humanity.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62104.41
ETH 2404.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49