Do people post sob stories just to make money on Steemit.com???

in #homeless8 years ago

I've noticed a few posts that are making a good amount of money, some are in the hunreds of dollars range while a few are in the thousands of dollar range.

It's hard to believe some people when they post that they are homeless, but can get on steemit to post. Sure, some of the posts will be genuine, but I guarantee that some aren't and the person behind the post is just here for the money.

How often do we see these cards played here on steemit:

  • I need help
  • I'm homeless
  • I'm recovering from (insert ailment here)
    and so on.

I'd say it's at least a 50/50 for people who are genuine vs. the people who are posting to get the upvotes.

It's nearly impossible to do any due dilligence unless the person gives us links to every social profile they have so we can check them out. And if they claim to be homeless, they probably won't have social profiles. If they really are homeless, are they going to internet cafes and paying for an hour so they can post on steemit.com?

I have read some that I think are genuine, but not many.

What do you guys and girls think?

Thanks,

Cryptommy

Sort:  

money does not bring happiness - the idea...

Have you ever rode a wave runner?

I think this happens everywhere.... not just steemit

That's true. Everyone is out to find a quick buck, and tugging at people heart strings is one of the quickest ways to get them to open their wallets.

I absolutely agree. If you´re homeless I think you do not have a cellphone and might not be able to afford a public internet hour. Most of those just play the pity card to see if they can boost their income.
By the end it´s everybody’s right to try what they think works best and it is on everybody to proof them wrong.

I do agree that everyone is eager to make a dollar and it's pretty sad to see the lengths people will go to in order to make money.

I'm sure there are some people out there that are truly down on their luck and reaching out to a community of people for help, but not many.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54118.47
ETH 2272.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34