My Job

in #homeedders4 years ago

beach.jpg

@bengy asked: Describe your work/place... how do you feel and think about it?


As a stay-at-homeschooling mom, this type of meta-cognitive practice is rarely a priority. But it is essential to think about how I think and feel, especially when my job is 24/7/365. It is obvious that I do not earn a salary or commission or even a stipend in my chosen career. But of course I am rewarded in other beautifully cliche ways: paid in kisses and hugs, the love of my children is the best reward, when I see them smile my bank account is filled.

My day is consumed by constant, consistent observation of and engagement with my seedlings. We believe in an unschooling philosophy, so mostly the seedlings learn through play, observation and practice. I read to them, they read to me. We write letters to pen pals and relatives. We watch PBS Kids television shows, thoughtfully curated documentaries, and practice basic skills on Khan Academy Kids. I ask and answer questions. I listen to and tell stories. We construct, create and explore. We build and solve basic math equations and discuss scientific properties in the teachable moments that I intentionally watch for and take advantage of. These basic tasks are necessary and on the surface, take up all of my time. But the real work of what I actually do hides under this veil of busyness.

work.jpg

As the physical tasks are accomplished, I engage simultaneously in the mental work of determining what values I want to pass on, and then intentionally structure our days to live them. I draw on the knowledge bank of resources that I have in my brain from my own education, time as a public school teacher, and my personal self-actualization journey. I apply principles of educational theory, psychology, child development and spiritual exploration to the interactions I have with my seedlings. I research and connect to other resources to invest in my portfolio. Every day, every hour, every minute, I run my choices through the lens of my values

I think that if you are a parent to a child in some way, you are educating them at home. You are your child’s first and most influential teacher. You are the primary force of change in their lives, unless you choose not to be. But that choice is an education too. You spend time and money on what you value. Your children will value what you do whether you make that choice conscientiously or not. Not spending time and money on something is a lesson too.

Really, this is more of a belief system rather than simply a collection of thoughts about my job. Raising people who can take care of themselves, and be relatively happy as a bonus, is the ultimate goal. One wonderful public school colleague used to say that as education consultants trying to change how other teachers teach, we were trying to teach ourselves out of a job. As parents, we are trying to parent ourselves out of a job. Because if we raise healthy independent people, they really don’t need to be “parented.”

rope swing.jpg

Sometimes I feel completely burned-out. I yell. I wallow in self-pity every now and then. I become exhausted by the constant communication and repetition and management of emotions - my own included. Yet beyond that I find bigger purpose in that I truly believe in the value of my job as a full time parent and home educator. I think it is the most important work I could do in this stage of my life, and I feel grateful that the universe has guided me around twists and turns to lead me to follow this path.


I am grateful to find a place with rich soil to grow a community. May we take root, and flourish together.

@Bia.Birch 🌱

All artwork, photographs, and content are original and created by @bia.birch unless otherwise credited.

Sort:  

Wow... that is important work that you do. I had mentioned to someone else that all of this type of work (homeschooling, carer and all of that...) is unfairly unappreciated by the economy in general. It is not compensated despite the fact that the economy relies on many people doing work that isn't "paid". It is a strange state of affairs that the raising of the next generation is seen as less important than creating money at all costs....

Thanks @bengy for your support.🌱 I absolutely agree that our economy is investing in the wrong values. Just think of what the future could be if we spent our resources on raising children to be kind, thoughtful, problem solvers who value life in all forms.

Parenting is not an easy job! Actually is the most important one, as someone else's future lays in your hands. As a parent you do not get days off, you are no on call. You are there, just like you said 24/7/365. On my opinion, a parent's multitasking skills are way better than a regular employee. Yes, you don't get paid for it (unless you are caring for someone else's kids), but the rewards you do get are fantastic. It takes patience, commitment, love, repetition, tact and so on... At the end of the day, when you are exhausted, right before you lay your head on your pillow, you k!ow that being present in your child's life is the best thing you could have done. Great post!

Thank you @lymepoet 🌱 I did care for other people's kids for about 8 months. And let me tell you, it was a challenge. When my husband left, I had to figure out how to make an income. I decided caring for other children was the best way for me to continue to home school - a value I did not want to compromise - as well as use my home as an asset in order to help it pay for itself. It was the right choice, and I really loved the kiddos I cared for, but holy crap, it was hard.

Congratulations @bia.birch! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 200 comments. Your next target is to reach 300 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

I always find mothers who choose to homeschool are truly patient
In my pockets of staying at home... I can say I would say being at work was easier to handle
I can see you have put thought into your choice... and your kids are lucky to have you at home to teach, to guide :D

Thank you 🌱

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87