Enartis Yeast in a Cider Brew

in #homebrew7 years ago (edited)

I am using a 55 Gallon Barrel for the Ferment

Here is the Yeast I am using

It is Enartis ES 123, which will bring the Cider to 14% ABV and add Apple and Pear Terpenes.

I am not sure exactly how much Juice I used, but I used different kinds. All of them were 100% Juice with the only added ingredients being Vitamin C (Absorbic Acid) and Malic Acid (the Acid that Apples already contain, which gives them their flavor.

Apple Juice Concentrate, 100% Apple Juice with the only added ingredients being the same as the Juice

25 Lbs of Sugar

You don't have to use this much Yeast, but I decided to just because

Yeast Nutrient to get it going

4 Lbs of Cinnamon Sticks

Then after this I added more Juice until it was above that Line in the barrel, so about 50 Gallons, maybe more, total. I didn't fill it all the way up because if you fill it too much it will bubble out of the top.

This was the airlock Yesterday, the air pushing the Water means that it is working

You might not be able to tell from this picture, but this is today and it is Bubbling fast. Each Bubble is CO2 being made by the Yeast, which means that Alcohol is being made by the Yeast, as CO2 and Alcohol are the byproducts of Yeast eating Sugar. This Yeast also has the added benefit of creating Apple and Pear Terpenes, so usually Cider that was this strong would basically just taste like Wine, this will still taste like Apples and Pears.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63747.71
ETH 2543.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66