UltraEd - A (WIP) Nintendo 64 Game Engine

in #homebrew7 years ago

DBpoQnxV0AA7VBL.png

Hello everyone!

I just wanted to share that for the past few months I've been working on a new game engine for the Nintendo 64 called UltraEd. I'm aiming for a Unity3D like editor that will make it very simple to create new games/demos for the console. My current efforts are on building the editor for the PC and then I'll continue my work on the Nintendo 64 engine part. I've already been successful at loading new models, PNG textures and sound effects on the system. Along with full controller support.

I realize this is a huge undertaking but I've really enjoyed building this so far. I have many more months of work and whenever I have free time I devote it to this project because I love the Nintendo 64!

To see some screen shots of what I have been actively developing checkout the #ultraed64 tag on twitter:
https://twitter.com/search?q=%23ultraed64&src=typd

I also have some videos of my model loading demonstrations on youtube which you can see here:

And if you're interested in checking out the source code you can view that here on github:
https://github.com/deadcast/UltraEd

Thank you so much for reading and I'm really excited to get this tool more developed so others can start to enjoy creating new content for this dearly loved and historical system!

Cheers!

Sort:  

Great work buddy. I hope there can someday be a development scene as large as the NES's scene. Would love to see a whole bunch of cute games pop up for the n64

Haha thank you! Yes I would love to see a bigger community someday developing new cute things for the console. I feel like the system still have many years left to see new things. :)

Congratulations @deadcast! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58551.09
ETH 2617.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44