Bottling the tomato beer and blending Petrus

in #homebrew7 years ago

Today I finally got round to bottling my tomato beer. A week ago I removed the tomatoes and moved it to secondary to clear for a bit. This is the pic from last week when I've moved it.
20170915_173826.jpg

I stole one of @tubequeen's ideas and am using a liquid steriliser usually utilised for cleaning baby items. I know most brewers will go bat sh*t when they'll see this and go on how StarSan is the only option but whatever. We'll see how this works and if there's any noticeable differences.
20170925_145830.jpg

Added the sugar for carbing, moving the beer again to mix it up with the sugar properly and to leave as much sediment as I can behind.
20170925_152647.jpg

It's gone a bit darker since last week, it tastes surprisingly nice considering I literally added roasted tomatoes to a light wheat beer. Don't really get much tomato flavour, maybe the tiniest hint and some spiciness, but the flavours will change after bottling, so I'm hopping they'll show.
20170925_152703.jpg

Perfect use for my red bottle caps.
20170925_154948.jpg

Now ... as always, you can't do any homebrewing activities without sampling some other beer.
Today, I've decided to treat myself to some of the best beers I've had this year and blend them. I'm using the Petrus Aged Red and the Petrus Aged Pale. I've been really impressed with the Aged Pale, it still is my favourite sour so far, mostly because of how clean and crisp it is.
20170925_190914.jpg

On the Petrus website they encourage you to play brewmaster and have a go at blending their different beers. I liked their Aged Red, but it's sourness level wasn't quite enough for me so I went for a half half mix for my first glass.

20170925_191130.jpg

Now this ... this is beautiful beer. The kick ass sourness from the Aged Pale cuts perfectly through the syrupy fruitness of the Red and I think it brings up the cherries even more as they're not drowned by the sweetness anymore.

The sweetness was what I thought could have been improved in the Aged Red last time I tried it and this blend fixes it.

Curious how my next glass will be, I'll go for a 1 to 2 or 3 mix for that one but as I like my sours, I can only assume it will get even better, heh.

That's it; Cheers for reading through!

Sort:  

Nice one buddy....seems crazy, awsome and fun....keep up the good work.

upvote and following done. Checkout some articles on my blog @abedoonsubhani

Cheers....!!

This post has received a 0.72 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @costopher.

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 0.82 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @costopher. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

upvoted from your fellow @make-a-whale member

Congratulations @costopher! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64344.88
ETH 2629.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83