Why I Moved to the Countryside Above Corpus Christi, Texas

in #home7 years ago

I chose to retire in Jim Wells County in South Texas as my retirement spot for the following reasons: Land is cheap, no state income tax, property tax on my 1200 square foot home on 2.2 acres is $548.00 per year, people are gun friendly (neighbors shoot dove from their yards & great state gun laws), I am 45 miles from beach walking and bay fishing, good weather year round, gardens grown all year, hunting wild turkey is fun, neighbors are experts at barbeque, no building permits are required, I enjoy chatting with the boys in the Klatt Hardware Store, etc....

I constructed my home by myself. I did pay a few neighbors to help me with heavy stuff such as concrete pours. Though, I did handle a 10-yard pour one day when none of my neighbors showed up. I now have my first home without a mortgage. The land, septic, well, and home with a 2-car garage cost me a total of around $65,000.00.002.JPG

Sort:  

Beautiful house! Texas is an outstanding state!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64599.25
ETH 3467.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55