Papsan Assemble!

in #home5 years ago

So for many years, my papasan was my favorite piece of furniture. It was the first thing I bought when I got my own apartment.

But then over the years, the big cushion for it got peed on by kitties - twice - AND it got cloth mothed, and I kept vacuuming them off. I even washed it in my bathtub to get the pee out, because I needed my papasan (and there was no way it was going to fit in a washing machine). But eventually, it got too gross, and I stopped using it, and eventually threw the cushions out, but kept the frame. I thought I would sew a new cushion someday.

Yeah, I don't need to sew a cushion - I have crazy amounts of blankets and pillows!

Seven blankets, one body pillow, and one homemade square pillow later, plus my little kitty throw pillow:

I have my favorite nest back!

The fruit of all my furniture purging yesterday is having the space to set it up again. Hooray!

I am currently curled up in it as I write this. It is possibly more comfortable this way than it was with the cushion!

Goddess bless my perpetually cold blanket hoard. I'm like a dragon, but instead of gold, I have blankets and books. <3

Side quest:
I was going to repair the doormat I had made following an instructable online, that was a bunch of my rock collection hot glued down to a vinyl backing. I had barely enough glue to make it when I did so, which was enough to stick them to the mat but not to really secure them, so it rather quickly came undone.

The rocks from the mat

But after I picked all the loose rocks up, I discovered the flaw with this design: it was really gross under there. Really gross. Like, I knew it had accumulated some ick, but i had no idea how much.

It turns out, this much:

Ewww. It's not like I'm in a house with a garden hose and can rinse it off; there's really no way for me to clean it out if I remade it. So I decided not to. The rocks are in a box for now, and I threw the vinyl out. Maybe in a wooden frame with cement would work.

I love getting my home in order. Hope y'all are having a good Friday! :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @sunravelme.


image from Hyperbole and a Half

Thank you so much! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62068.40
ETH 2417.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56