How to get the jump on a late night prowler with "Nest Human Detection"

in #home6 years ago

A couple years ago I setup my back South wall with Chamberlin driveway sensors that alerted me when there was movement. I realized my Southern wall was low and very exposed, dark, and it worried me as a security risk. In addition to provide video, I setup Nest Cameras inside the house looking outside. 3 months later, I caught 2 prowlers with knives in my back yard trying to break into my home. This completely floored me, and made me want to put even more security into my house.

I added bigger LED flood lights around the perimeter of the house and put them on photocells (on at dusk off at dawn). None of these criminals like lights, the ones I caught, broke my small motion LED lights, but realized there were 5 more and decided there were better targets, sadly that was my neighbors yard.

I was pretty happy once I had LED Flood lights and my existing motion detection, but then I went ahead and added Nest Outdoor Cameras in key locations around the perimeter of my home. Nest cameras are amazing, I can say without a doubt they have fantastic hardware and their software just keeps getting better with updates. Nest recently did an update on their outdoor cameras that allows for "Human Detection". This is pretty cool, it can perfectly discern between People and anything else moving.

For weeks I watched it detect humans (friendly ones) perfectly around my house and notify me diligently and instantly via Email and Notifications on my phone. The only problem I thought was, if there's a late night prowler I won't know, I'd be asleep! I thought it would be great if I had an audio notification in my room. I was able to find a solution via the Nest alert emails. Nest sends emails notifying you of the event, and they are instant emails. They say "Human detected, yada yada". So all I needed was to create an audio alert email filter based on those particular emails. To do this I used the email client "Thunderbird", and a plugin for Thunderbird called "Tonequilla". I then just setup the laptop running it in my bedroom, and now have audio alerts!

Here's the software I used:

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/thunderbird/addon/tonequilla/
https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/thunderbird/channel/

So in review, you need all of the following:

  1. Nest Cameras set for human detection
  2. Computer in your room checking email
  3. Thunderbird email client with Tonequilla Email Filter
  4. Email filters set for Nest human detection parameters - So based on the human detection emails you would need to grab text that's only in that email. Then you set the filter to play your fav audio file, like Clint Eastwood, "Do you feel lucky punk".

I know that sounds like a lot, but maybe some of you already have these requirements or are considering security systems.

Having a home alarm is great, but I also want to be alerted as soon as they jump the wall. Nest Human Detection gives me time to prepare, and hopefully will prevent a horrible interaction from happening.

4D57178A-3745-4433-9945-D91BBFE806C2.jpg

Sort:  

Following you!

Congratulations @oakweb! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @oakweb! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64076.80
ETH 3516.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64