Create the community you want to live in

in #home6 years ago

My husband and I are buying a house. It's a three bedroom on half an acre in a small town; population ~1,300. I'll post photos, when we close! For now, here's an artist's rendering.

20180413_081236_Burst01.jpg

We're pretty excited about moving in, making it pretty, being homeowners, and planting a garden. But I am also pumped to move into the community.

Although I know nothing about the people who live in the neighborhood, I can't wait to reach out and get to know everybody. Husband and I are going to write up our contact info and walk around handing it out, and invite people to an open house. We're going to check out the church that's within walking distance, and if it's a good fit we'll attend regularly and contribute. We're also planning on setting up a trellis at the front of our property for snacky veggies so that neighbors can grab a nibble while they're out walking. Perhaps, if our garden is successful, we'll sell shares in it. We will also be on the lookout for ways we can support the endeavors of our neighbors.

Moving into the country means we'll have a lot more to offer our neighbors, and likely that we'll have more in common with them. I hope.

Yesterday a coworker of mine was working on a story about how some of the historic neighborhoods in the city I live in were established. He interviewed an elderly man whose family was involved in the development of the area, who told him that many of the first communities in the area were grown along cultural or religious lines. My coworkers were relieved that society has come so far since then: Now, communities are so much more diverse, and not so closed minded...

But I'm not so convinced we've improved. The strength of a community is in what they share, isn't it? Common goals, traditions, and philosophies give groups great power. A representative elected by a group with shared principles is more obligated to all of his or her constituents than one elected by a group split along political party lines – and party lines are what cultural, religious, and philosophical differences are reduced to in today's society. A political agent who is not obligated to the whole of his constituency drains the power and autonomy from a community like Walmart drains money from local economies.

I'm getting a little off track.

The point is, by joining a small community, my husband and I will have a great chance to grow the culture we want to live in – one that respects liberty, values voluntary cooperation, and strives toward sustainability. See below for artist's rendering:

20180413_102846.jpg

Sort:  

The Tree of Life, or Etz haChayim (עץ החיים) has upvoted you with divine emanations of G-ds creation itself ex nihilo. We reveal Light by transforming our Desire to Receive for Ourselves to a Desire to Receive for Others. I am part of the Curators Guild (Sephiroth), through which Ein Sof (The Infinite) reveals Itself!

I love your artist's rendering.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65560.09
ETH 3467.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68