Home-Based Fitness Blog

in #home7 years ago (edited)

Spring is here! Summer's just in the rearview mirror too. I canceled my gym membership a couple months ago because I wanted to save money and experiment with home workouts.

There are so many free videos that provide tutorials and guidance for a home-based fitness plan. As I extend this blog, I will add more to my fitness equipment collection. So far I have:

  • Memory foam mattress (perfect for ab workouts and yoga)

For the first couple weeks I am going research mostly body weight based exercises and with each progressing week, I will start to add weight training.


Week 1
[3/5/2018][5:15 PM]
Exercise #1


A quick effective 10-minute ab workout with Rachel DeMita!

Exercise #2


5 Exercises to do at home with Rachel DeMita!


[3/6/2018][7:36 PM]
I have a job interview on Thursday at a Kickboxing studio located in a nearby town. With the intention of preserving my legs, I've decided to do some movement based upper body exercises. Tonight I want to focus on boxing. I am a big fan of Floyd Mayweather and decided to emulate some of his defensive and offensive counter-punching highlights, thus creating an intense 22-minute workout out of it.

Exercise #1 (Defensive Highlights)

Exercise #2 (Offensive Counter Punching)

Ended up mixing some of his techniques with kicks. Trying to create my own combinations.


[3/8/2018][5:15 PM]
Looking to get hired at ilovekickboxing.com studio at a nearby city. A prerequisite of getting the job is participating in a kickboxing training session according to the owner who I talk to over the phone.

Today was Women's Days and it so happens that the studio's client base is predominantly women. The trainers where all female as well. For an hour and a half I participated in an energy-intensive kickboxing training program.

First, as a group we did a warmups, running laps are the training area and stretching. Also mixed in some ab exercises and body weight exercises such as pushups and squats.

Later in the workout, we start training with the kicking bags. We worked on a lot of left-right jabs, hooks, and uppercut combinations. Started to mix in front and side kicks into the boxing combinations as time progressed.

I had not done a high intensive training in a while, my head felt fried, my heart rate was skyrocketed, sweat was pouring everywhere, I felt like I was going throw up at any second... but I kept with it, gathered as much focus as I could, and with whatever energy I had left kept my eye at the end of the tunnel and finished the workout.

I should probably have paced myself better, but I wanted to empty the clip so to speak and leave it all on the training area. I was fighting, literally for a job. I wanted to show that I was just not some random guy, I have something special to show.

Breathing hard and exhausted, I left feeling confident that I would proceed to the next step. Today I received a call from the owner, informing me to come in Tuesday to participate in another training session. Hopefully on Tuesday, I will receive an official job offer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63248.94
ETH 2576.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85