The State of My Borders

in #home5 years ago

IMAG0732.jpg

This has not been a productive summer for me in the garden. At times it was just too hot. At times it was just too wet. And all the time I was just too lazy to get up and sort it out. I did mow the lawn once when I got tired of the overgrown meadow look, but the borders have hardly been touched. There's a bramble starting to strangle the wisteria up the top, the poor fuchsia that you can just about see if you know to look for it at the bottom of this picture is being smothered with grasses, the geraniums are out of control and the Virginia Creeper is trying to creep in the kitchen window.

So today I got my old jeans and shoes on and went out to at least break the inactivity. It's better. It's not tidy enough for me to show you a splendid "after" photo to go with this "before" one, but it's getting there and it feels better. I also got round to the other side and harvested some of the abundant rosemary and tamed the mint which has invaded the lawn.
Of course today was also the day we had our first heavy rain for a while, so I had to dash back in for shelter occasionally.

I also remembered to buy some cement when I was in town so the little cherub who is supposed to have a bird bath on his head can shelter under there for the winter.

Progress!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62659.86
ETH 2534.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63