We need more space!

in #home6 years ago

20180624_123231.jpg

I'm a huge fan of the show love it or list it. Well, maybe not a fan but I find this show quite entertaining. If someone isn't familiar with this show, I'll explain quickly with bullet points.

•a family is not pleased with their current house/apartment
•they are in front of a decision either to renovate their current house or move out
•the real estate agent and an interior designer have a competition between them
•the family have to decide whether to choose a house the agent has found for them or stay in their upgraded current place

There are some features that happen in many episodes such as:
•the renovation budget is not enough (in fact, not even close)
•unpleasant surprises are found during renovation (mold for example or rotten foundation)
•the owners get upset with the interior designer and the budget
•they have to call an engineer at least once, often several times
•the open-concept-kitchen is mentioned at least 5 times, usually a lot more
and
•it all starts with "We need more space!!"

Well, I find it kind of funny when a family of three and a cat desperately needs more space. Because obviously 300m3 is absolutely not enough! How could it be? All three members don't have their own bathrooms, they only have four storage rooms, their terrace doesn't include a swimming pool and (come on!) their cat has to have its own complex with a toilet. So, they desperately need more space, more storage rooms, a bigger kitchen and two more guest rooms and hey, don't forget about an area for guest entertaining.

Really, visit us, please.

The thing is, that our family is in that situation, except, we really don't have space. Our apartment is getting smaller as our family grows. I've been trying to get rid of unnecessary stuff but there is none to throw away anymore. And, there is no chance we could move anywhere any time soon... Frustrating.

Any tips?

Lindiry

Sort:  

I like also to watch that show!

I have watch that show randomly.

Usually lack of space is just feeling.

That is true!

Not in this case.

I regularly watch that show, too. Do you watch that version which is set in Raleigh, North Carolina, USA or Love it or list it, Vancouver set in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada? House prices in Vancouver are insane. In Raleigh, NC, property values are very similar to Tampere, Finland where you live.

Usually I watch Vancouver with Jillian and Todd but I've seen some other episodes too. There is also love it or list it for summerhouses, I've been watching that too occasionally.

I haven't seen Raleigh! That might be interesting to watch. :) And yes, Vancouver seems to be extremely expensive.

In the Raleigh Love it or list it, there is this dark-haired middle-aged British-born woman who does the renovations and a guy who is the estate agent. They have a very high over-representation of gay couples as clients.

Raleigh, North Carolina, has a population of about half a million (a million or so in the urban area) and it is the state capital near the Atlantic coast roughly in the norternmost part of the South. It's a bit smaller than Helsinki but in the same size category. It has a very high population growth rate. It's in the so-called Research Triangle made up by North Carolina State University, Duke University and University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Duke University is well-known and I thought it was an Ivy League university until I checked and found out it wasn't.

Given that background, the cost of housing in Raleigh, NC, and the rest of Durham County is quite reasonable. The show has beautiful, very spaceous and relatively new houses on the market for $300,000-$400,000 only 30-50 minutes from downtown Raleigh. The high growth rate of the city does not surprise me at all. The climate is warm temperate with short winters with only occasional snow and long hot summers.

I've visited Vancouver, BC. A great uncle of mine and two generations of his descendants live there (some have moved elsewhere). It is a very attractive place but the housing market makes it completely hopeless for young people to ever become homeowners unless they can get very significant help from their parents. The inflated house prices are caused by mainly rich Chinese and Taiwanese speculators buying up property there. We bought our house for less than €300,000 but I'm pretty sure that if it were located in Vancouver, BC, the current market price for it would've been over a million.

Oh my god, Markku. You are like a walking encyclopedia! Jeez. :D

I really, really appreciate your comment! I think I might have seen an episode about raleigh but I think I wasn't paying that much attention to really dig deeper.

I just watched an episode about vancouver and there was a horrible house which was valued for 1.3 million! Well, lake view but the house was hidious..

It's the most trivial thing in the world to google that stuff up. I did it some time ago because I was interested in what kind of place that show was set in.

I've been just watching. :D It'll be a lot nicer to watch that show now.

You got a 29.57% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @markos86!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66892.02
ETH 3513.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67