Am I allowed to miss my home if I was happy leaving it?

in #home8 years ago
Hello again, my Steemit fellows!

As I mentioned in my introduction, I left home a little more than year and a half ago. It was December 2014. I headed to visit my parents and decided to stay a little longer. Just a little, I was talking to myself, then the vacation ends and my life will go back to normal. Besides, my friends and rest of the family, last year at the university, part-time job in a local restaurant, everything was waiting for me, I will have to go back.

And I was. Although a bit late to for that everything that used to wait. I returned after eight months and boy, was I looking forward to that day. But those eight months abroad changed me and as I was booking my flight tickets, I realized I am going home with that same excitement as I was leaving it. That time I knew it will be only a short vacation.

The home I am talking about is Slovenia. A little country in Europe that really is something special. To me it looks different from afar. Even more beautiful now, as if before I have not noticed the beauty of it. Or maybe it just seems that way because of 23 years worth of memories? No matter the case, it is a land worth visiting at least once in a lifetime.

My home country is not widely known (though I think that at least Europeans already heard about their young little sister), probably because of it's small size and quite young age.

postimage postimage postimage postimage

My accent attracts curious people almost every day, who want to know (or even better - guess) the country I come from. It always makes me laugh in my mind, for I know their answers. They suggest Ukraine or Russia. I remind them that I mentioned I was from Europe. Okay, Slovakia then. Or Germany. Or.. . Sometimes I spare them and agree on whatever the country they picked. I do like making people shine in their moment of fame once in a while. But all other times I switch to educational mode. These poor fellows get the 5 minute geography lecture and that is my moment of fame.

This time I decided to use my brief moment of fame for showing lovely Slovenia to Steemit community. Since I like taking photos wherever I go (no, I am not a professional photographer) I believe my photos will give you a rough idea of it's charm.

All that being said, Slovenia does not have masses of tourists coming in. Which is actually a good thing. It keeps our land crowd-free. Almost anything you are seeking, you shall find on those 7,827 square miles. From Alpine mountains to the Adriatic Sea, peaceful lakes to emerald rivers, from vast fields to vineyards.

I often think of my new friends, asking me, why did you even leave such a place. If I were you, I would never leave! I gave that thought much attention, I did. Some might think I should not miss it if I chose not to come back. 'Now she has what she wanted' one may say. 'I knew she will regret leaving' the other may add. But the way I see it, it was not regret that led me to write this. It was gratitude, pride and honor to share this with all of you. Once you step out of the comfort of your hometown and take a look back, you get to appreciate things more. What you had, what you have and what you want to achieve in future. Home will always be there, waiting.

postimage postimage postimage postimage postimage

This one is for all travelers around the world, wanting to explore foreign places and cultures. I hope that I encouraged some of you to visit Slovenia one day. If anyone was there already, please share your experience with me, tell me what you liked the most, which places do you think are especially worth visiting!

As for me, I am not sure when I will go back. Probably not in a few years. But when I do, I want to see it all, all over again. Go to the places that I did not go before and soak in all that this tiny gem has to offer. And definitely take some more photos!

~ Karin

Sort:  

Of course you are allowed to miss home! Slovenia looks absolutely beautiful! Iwould love to go there some day.

Thank you for kind words @bbrewer . I am sure you will be amazed. Till then there is always photos to admire.

I do plan to visit your country some time in the next few years.I've meet a friend that was from Slovenia on my 2 weeks erasmus training.That would be a greag opportunity to refresh the contact.

It is nice to hear that. Make sure to show us photographs when you do. The advantage of a small country is that it is not hard to meet with anyone. Your friend won't be more that 3 hour drive away, no matter where you will be located at the time. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66620.20
ETH 3494.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72