Takeaways From The House Issues

in #home6 years ago

350D4A57-EE87-40F3-9BCF-B4960A957CEE.jpeg
Yesterday, I shared what went on with our fireplace. It seems like it has been one thing after another since we bought this house. We were so close to finishing up on all the major projects.

We were so close to getting new floors. All I wanted were new floors!


And then the hot water line broke, and the roof needs fixing, and the fireplace needed fixing. Ok, the fireplace wasn’t too bad, but redoing the water lines was an expense we didn’t anticipate, and we don’t even know how bad the roof is yet.

This house just feels like a big money pit. We’ve been doing 40 years of house maintenance in a span of 3+ years. It really adds up. After all this, we think we would have been better off tearing the place down and starting new. But as the saying goes, “Hindsight is 20/20.”

Before we bought this house, his parents offered to sell their house for the same amount as this house, and they would buy this house instead. I wasn’t too keen on that idea. But supposedly, the offer still stands to swap houses. I’m not sure how that would work out in legal terms, but with each new dilemma popping up, I have thought about it.

When we went over for visits, I would really look at the place.


Sure, there were some perks. More spaces indoors and outdoors for one.

But then I thought about how I’d have to paint every single wall. We already did that in our house. I’d like to switch all the light switches and plug-ins to white. We already did that in our house. We’d have popcorn ceilings again. That was a lot of work taking the popcorn off our ceilings.

I was starting to appreciate all the work we had already put into our home. If we switched, we’d have to do it all over again. Talk about spending more money!

So we will make do with what we’ve got for now, with the hopes of one day, years down the road, building us our dream home.

Darn it, I still want new floors though!


Maybe if the roof needs a complete overhaul, we’ll just add a second story to the house while we’re at it.

So while dealing with all the house craziness, I couldn’t help but to ask God why. While I didn’t receive a direct answer, there are a couple lessons I took away from all this.

First, the importance of maintenance. Not just home maintenance, but maintenance in all areas of our lives. Health, spiritual, relationships. Our culture teaches us that we can just do whatever we want, and then when we’ve finally had enough, then we can try fix it all at one time(usually by spending lots of money.)

I wouldn’t recommend that method. Not only does it require a lot more work than steadily keeping maintenance as you go, sometimes, it doesn’t even work at all.

Second, at the end of the day, these are just material things and they will not last. My eyes should be focused with an eternal perspective and not set on things of the world. Oh how many times I have told myself I’ll be happy when such-and-such happens. But 1 Timothy 6:8 comes to mind.

Hopefully, the surprise problems will subside soon enough. Until then (and continually, really), I will try my best to focus on the things I can control and on those that are most important.


I’m Hebrew Housewife. Remember, be diligent.

Sort:  

You got the most important thing a house needs and that's God.

Lol when Melissa and I found some faulty plumbing I jokingly told her "Quick! Call the landlord!"

Then I said some bad words cause I hate plumbing.

Home ownership ain't no joke lol

We have a mortgage on the house. Technically, doesn’t that make the house problems the bank’s problem?! Lol if only.

I doubt you'll get very far with that, but please try and then report back with your findings 😂😂

howdy tonight hebrewhousewife! lol. ain't home ownership fun? there's always maintenance and always new expenses and surprise repair bills!
But you guys will be fine, you got your priorities straight. God bless you guys. oh, does his parents want to switch? or just want to help you guys out?

I guess they have offered to switch places. At least they did. I’m not sure if that offer is still on the table. But there’s just too much that I’d want to do to that house to make it worth it to me. It’d be like starting all over again.
His dad would like to switch houses because then it would force his mom to get rid of all the stuff she’s holding on to.

oh I get it! lol. howdy there hebrewhousewife! I hope you're doin great today..well that makes sense even though it sounds funny. No I wouldn't do it either and have to redo all those things again, what does the Big Man think?

Oh he loves the idea! It’s the house he grew up in, so of course he’s biased in thinking it’s the best house ever. Lol!
The only upside I see though is that there’s more square footage and more yard. Otherwise, it doesn’t have a wood burning fireplace, still has same number of bedrooms and bathrooms, and yeah just all the updating that it needs.

oh ok well then you have tons of leverage. If you like the bigger house and yard. I mean if you wanted to do it just tell him you'll agree if those updates are done before you move.
Then everyone wins. Has is snowed there yet, surely by Halloween it will right?

I feel for you! I have done maintenance here, but it didn't stop my hot water tank for leaking $200 down my drain, before I Noticed the hot water was out! Nor the pain (I hate plumbing too, LOL) of replacement work. I have the old tank out, and the painting inside the last time I lost a hot water tank made sure the water went down the drain! That tube of caulking was money well spent.

We are working on a Money pit on the new land, and a new one might have been easier, but not less money, and we will have the prefect house when I am done. Sounds like you are there too, but it is hard to see in the middle of the fight! Keep slugging and be strong! My plumbing on the homestead will begin with drilling a well....

I would cover your roof with metal roofing. Not hard to do, and the steel is good for 50 years on the Paint! Find a local manufacturer, and they will give a Large cash discount for local pickup.

:)

You sound like quite a handy man there! We knew we had a leak because we could hear our hot water tank run constantly.

I know we are getting close, we were so close. It would help if the people we hired didn’t take short cuts, too. The people who resided our house messed up and instead of fixing the problem, they just left it. Well, that problem created a gap for mice to get it. My husband temporarily fixed it, and wouldn’t you know it, haven’t seen anymore mice. I think it’s safe to say, we won’t be hiring those guys anymore.

The only problem I have with a metal roof is the loudness during a rain.

Add some extra insulation in the attic and sheet insulation under the metal itself. BUT you will have a forever roof. We put a metal roof on for my sister, and she loves it. I asked about the noise, and she had never noticed any noise. The attic apparently absorbs a lot of the noise, and the roof does not leak!

I HATE sub standard work! There are a lot of questionable contractors these days My hot water tank was in the garage , and well connected to the drain system....

The new one will be tankless.

Debbie wants to MOVE, but she has been sick, so I have not been able to work out there much. Frustrating but she is worth it! I am looking at getting just enough done to be ready to move, and finish the rest once out there. I have to get air conditioning in where she stays because she is hyper sensitive to temperature variations.

I will have to be on grid initially, and add the solar once there. The plans are thousands of hours of work, but it will be like nothing else on Earth.

:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64432.28
ETH 2648.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78