My Favorite Things About Korea, Part 1: The Elevators

in #home7 years ago

Back “Home” with Fresh Eyes


By the time my brother and I were both in graduate school around 2014, my parents decided to leave New Jersey, our home for the past 2.5 decades, and return to Korea. It was an interesting transition for my brother and I, essentially becoming “international students” overnight and having to travel halfway across the world to see family. This coupled with the relationship with my now wife, also from Korea, and our concurrent work in Korean cultural development all spiraled together into a tremendous experience of suddenly being immersed in Korean society in a way I had never experienced before. For better (probably) or for worse, this has abruptly become my new familial home and a much more integral part of my ongoing life.

If you've read some of my previous posts, you'd probably recognize a very critical attitude towards Korean culture and society. This isn't to be negative or pessimistic of my new transition, as often happens when ex-pats and immigrants are forced to integrate, but instead to promote a more critically productive dialogue of what the nature of culture is and how we can possibly alter its course. Culture can be as dangerous as it is defining and unfortunately at this historical moment, Korean society is horribly imbalanced when technological advancement is compared to personal freedoms.

All that being said, something I want to try out through a few Steemit posts is purely focusing on some of the significant joys of living/being in Korea as a form of self-therapy, national pride, and just inconsequential fun all mixed into some freeform writing. So...

These are some of my favorite things~

Take a Ride with Me


Nearly all Koreans live in tall and dense apartment complexes that are lined up like dominos across the urban landscape.

One of the utmost pleasures that I enjoy on a daily basis because of them are the elevators. That's right, those simple little boxes.

These are some of the reasons why elevators in Korea are an absolute joy. Hopefully if you ever visit the country in the future, you'll remember and appreciate these little places.

1- The doors close when you press close. Immediately. There isn't a delay and there isn't an illusion that the door will eventually listen to you like in most other countries. Open means open, close means close. Rides feel exponentially more punctual due to this as you close the doors as soon as you hop on and shut them when it stops at a floor with no one there.

2- The buttons can be “unpressed.” Ever press the wrong floor on accident, only to annoy fellow riders when you press a second button? Or ever have a young child be enthralled by the responsive lights and press several buttons at once, causing major speed bumps on your way up or down? Fret not in Korea as a second push will unselect any lit button.

3- Elevators don't jolt. I can almost never feel it when elevators start moving. As a child, the only time I ever pooped my pants was when my parents coerced in me into riding The Tower of Terror when I was in elementary school. Ever since, the initial spasm of elevators causes a slight dread. But the elevators in Korea seem to handled by the smoothest of operators.

4- Elevators are the only true community spaces. I mentioned before that most Koreans live in expansive apartment complexes. Unfortunately it isn't common to have many communal areas integrated into these developments other than a few dotting playgrounds. The only place that neighbors share is the elevator and as such, most are tagged with public service announcements, recent events, and sometimes even a neighborhood calendar of activities to join.


Fancy, huh? The angel is in the details. Its the little things like this that really make me appreciate the daily experience of this country. I had quite a bit of fun writing this and already have a few in mind for further spotlights. Maybe I'll do the stairwells next...

Steem on!

Sort:  

Interesting. Very, very different from Brazil (where I am now). Like you said, the little things make all the difference. Nice post. :)

I agree the Elevators in the hotel I was staying in didn't jolt at all and as you said the door close as soon as you press that close button and I got to say I like the music that play when the train approaching lol

Oh those subway musical tracks are my favorite compositions of all time hahaa

Good morning !
반갑습니다
여러가지 흥미로운일이 있네요
Have a good day !

안녕하세요,
흥미롭습니다.
한국의 엘리비이터 문화는 미국인들이 이해하기에
독특한 면이 많다고 하잖아요.

Interesting perspective on the elevators here. I have quite the opposite outlook so its nice to see a different perspective. I live in a building where there is a Daiso store on the second floor. Almost every single elevator ride going down stops on the second floor for people going down to the first floor. This drives me nuts, especially since the stairs are not hard to find and lead you right to the front door. Okay, rant over. haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65821.61
ETH 3008.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74