I Redecorated My Bedroom

in #home6 years ago

IMG_6958.JPG

I am a maniac. I had a ton of things to do today but in lieu of doing any of those things, I decided to faux finish the wall in my bedroom and redecorate.

I've lived in this house nearly four years and never really got my bedroom set up exactly the way I wanted it. I love interior decorating but for some reason the bedroom has been one of those neglected spaces. Granted, I spent 3 of the 4 years sharing this small space with another person and I had to reconcile his taste and stuff in the space, so basically nothing ever happened.

Yesterday ended up being a pretty expensive day as I went to several different thrift stores with @alexbeyman. He got a cool coffee table and and garbage can from the future and I found this gorgeous dusty pink/lavender velvet slipper chair for fifty bucks. I'm pretty sure in is brand new too.

I had a grey velvet bedspread but I've been kind of bewildered with what colors to go with in the bedroom. My room happens to be in the "Love and Romance" portion of the house so pinks and reds are good and too many greys and blues could cool things off more than I'd like.

Finding this chair was the inspiration to move forward with redecorating and once I start moving forward with a project it is very hard to stop me.

I took a load of stuff to the goodwill today and on my way home I stopped into miller paint to check out their mis-tint section. I found a quart of grey and a quart of pink for $1.25 a piece. That's right. I was able to repaint my bedroom for $2.50. No joke.

I mixed the grey and pink together in a seperate container and got a lavender that I rag washed onto the wall. Then I washed the grey over top followed by a watered down pink. Then I washed grey over the top of it again. The wall with the two dressers and the fireplace got the faux finish. Then I painted the small wall in front of my dressing room grey.

I hung a very long curtain rod over my bed as I intend to hang multiple curtains behind my bed (still need to acquire them) as I was forced to put my bed off center in front of a window to maximize space which isn't very feng shui.

Anyway, I've been at it since about 11:30 this morning which puts me at about 12 hours of complete on total madness. I'm exhausted but I wanted to share the fruits of my labor. Unfortunately, the sun already went down and the lighting isn't very good in my room at the moment. Ooh, that reminds me that I'd like to replace the current light fixture with a chandelier but that's going to need to wait another day because Mama is WIPED out.

.

Sort:  

great work, and a lot of work. Dont think you are really a maniac thou :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95