Why I hate D.I.Y. that involves water. Bathroom update.

in #home7 years ago

IMG_1982.JPG

I hate water as water causes leaks when you move it through pipework unless everything is perfectly sealed. It was a leak that started this whole project when a leak around our bath brought in the kitchen ceiling.

IMG_1984.JPG

Now having got all the water-pipes in and checked them for any leaks it was time to sort out the waste pipes. The problem was the new fancy sink and unit was nowhere near connecting with the exsisting waste pipes.

IMG_1981.JPG

So I bought a new waste kit and some bends and a six foot length of pipe so I could cut off about 4 inches from the end, that was all I needed. Once fitted and altered to fit I checked it for leaks by running water through it and all seemed well...

Well until I turned around and realised I'd not blocked off the waste pipe for the shower and there was water everywhere as the two waste pipes are connected. Mopping up the water and moving the shower base back out of the bathroom I've fitted the showers waste trap and again tested it all for leaks. With hot water into the sink the next step is connecting the cold water supply to the sink and pipework I've put in for the shower.

IMG_1983.JPG

The wife has already started to accessories and picked up a new soap and toothbrush holder, it's so good when she starts to help out in dong the new bathroom.

Sort:  

water is a love hate relationship

Let me clean any part of the house but not the bathroom. It's kind a complicated =D

Ermergerd! That looks like a lot of damn work. Stuff like that makes me glad to be a renter; i don't have to fix it!!

It's taking a lot longer to do than it should, due to me having to learn how to do each job as I start it.

I leave the plumbing to someone else! Had too many expensive "booboos".

Wish I could but can't afford to hire one.

Been there. Done that. Had skinned knuckles and cleaned up a lot of water too.

The three most important tools in a good plumbing kit are...

  1. Time
  2. Patience
  3. Humility

Also it's a good idea to have plenty of plumber's putty! Steem On Brother!

Congratulations @alienbutt! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60701.27
ETH 2912.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40