Clutch problems on my car

in #holidays8 years ago

So me and my girlfriend have booked a nice little holiday this week and paid for it. We have told the kids and they are super excited as we expected them to be.
The plan was to load up the car (renault scenic) with all our luggage needed and drive down the coast for a well deserved break, but all doesnt seem to be going to plan.
We drove over to her mothers for the traditional sunday roast (roast chicken with all the trimmings).
Then when it was time to leave i went out to start the car ready to leave when i noticed the clutch and broken and i could not get the car into gear.
Nightmare!
We decided to get a taxi home as it was getting late and returned the next day to inspect the car properly, to find out my instincts we right. I went to the local autoparts store and spent the money on a new clutch and went straight back to the car and began stripping the car to remove the gearbox.
Once the parts were removed and the gearbox unbolted i proceeded to prize the gearbox away from the engine. I then unbolted the old clutch and removed it.
When i begun to fit the new clutch i realised that there was not a big enough gap between the engine and the gearbox to get the clutch alignment tool to line up the new clutch in the car. So i decided to line the clutch up out the car and use a couple of spots of superglue to hold it in place. (Clutch should separate the glue upon first use of the clutch).
I then bolted everything up and put the gearbox back on with great difficulty, then fitted all the parts needed back onto the car and bolted everything up tight, fitted the battery and lowered the car back onto the ground.
I then started the car and tried to test drive it only to realise that it was not going into gear. I inspected everything i could to resolve the matter but to no avail. I then realised i must of used too much glue!
So i then had to redo everything i had done to get the clutch back out and separate the clutch.
The car is still not finished and holiday is fast approaching! I really dont want to hire a car as this costs way too much for my liking. I can only hope i can get the clutch lined up and fitted correctly and everything bolted back up ready for the mot before we go away! Thats right the car has to pass an mot test as well before we can go on holiday or we'll be catching 3 different trains with all our luggage to get there! Wish me luck

Sort:  

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 6.3 and reading ease of 88%. This puts the writing level on par with Stephen King and Dan Brown.

Is that a good thing? I haven't really blogged before and haven't written a story since i was at school nearly 10 years ago.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62740.92
ETH 3354.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46