HODOR / On Thursday I accounted for 0.000470588% of all the accounts that posted on Steem

in #hodor5 years ago (edited)

Does this chart look familiar to you?

image.png

Looks a bit like this, doesn't it?

image.png

But it is actually...

image.png

So we are averaging around 8000/9000 daily unique posters/commentators at present.

Those are the daily counts though, what about the past week, fortnight, and month, etc?

7 days
select count(distinct author) from comments where created > getdate()-7
18446

14 days
select count(distinct author) from comments where created > getdate()-14
23720

28 days
select count(distinct author) from comments where created > getdate()-28
32402


On the 30th January 2018, 41288 accounts posted, the ATH. I posted on that day on one account.

In the past week, I have posted on abh12345, zapncrap (for actifit), steemcommunity (power-up league), and via automated comment on misterengagement, and on Thursday, all 4.

There were 8500 unique posters/commentators on Thursday. Remove promotion bots, community accounts, apps, other automated comments (bookkeeping, the spell-checker, etc), and how many individuals do you think posted?

8000?

4000?

2000?

This is in response to a message I received today - I'm pretty sure we don't have 500,000 active users, whatever you choose to base 'active' on.


image.png


image.png


image.png

Sort:  

I will choose 4000 as that is the middle of the road and 2000 just seems too low. I knew it was fairly bad and depressing, but than again there seems to be fewer of us engaging regularly. Pretty sad how greed and price dictates how busy this place becomes, but saying that how stupid are they as it does benefit us.

Seems low, but there are users with more accounts than me, and we have a lot of auto commentary / community accounts.

Those here are benefiting, as long as there is a price move down the road (which I think there will be!)

I think there will be as well and I know it is bitter sweet as the benefits are great at the same time. I would much rather see the price drop and everyone on here benefit whilst the greedy short sighted ones are away.

Big numbers look good to people, I prefer real.. then we know what we are working with 😉

I prefer "real," too... it establishes a baseline from which we can grow. And "WE" are going to be the ones tasked with this, because there's no magical "they" about to ride in and save the day.

=^..^=

Without sounding too negative, I don't think we can do much to help growth unless we bring applications or businesses in, which in turn bring users who wish to use these.

Absolutely.

No more active, individual people than there were 2 years ago. That is a tough pill to swallow.

Thursday seemed like a slowish kind of day to me, So I would say the low end number of 2000. I made a few comments but am only one person. I had fewer comments on Friday than Thursday, but my commenting has been on the down side as of late.

I think many have eased off on the commentary of late, but there's always today's post to find out if that's the case.

At least my vote bucket has only over flowed for about a 2 hour stretch this week, first time in a very long time I sat at 100% for more than a few minutes. So sort of an odd week, also i have seen a few post that won't open in steemit, they open in steemwallet and of course file not found. A few others saying that they could not comment at all, so I guess the dev's have been trying to do some tweaking or something this week. Looking forward to the post, I'll see it when I wake-up, have a good evening .

Once we go up, all the others who left will be posting once again saying “I’m back guys” 😂😂😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yep!

And I don't feel like supporting these people, which means they will likely leave again at the end of the next bull run :D

That's ok I'm here to receive your support. Lol

Posted using Partiko Android

I would have to go with 4000. However 2000 would not surprise me

4000 seems more generous, but still - not a lot!

I would go for 2000 too.. 4000 users would go well on friday! Hahaha..

Posted using Partiko Android

2000 for me too, we can all fit in the same disco :D

These days it feels like 2,000 as well! Crazy to see the correlation between users and price although we sort of knew it already. It may be a good idea to potentially do a Steem account giveaway with some Steem to get users active and potentially reversing the trend!

Posted using Partiko iOS

It sure does.

Accounts offering delegation for new users can't give that SP away at present!

I'm going to guess somewhere in the 5000 account range. It's not much, but it strikes me as a growing "core," and that's a good thing.

Here are the LONG term ramifications:

Those of us who are active and in it for the long haul are slowly building our bases... and "proportionately" gaining ground relative to the automatons and cash grabbers. Every time I power up 10 Steem, it's 10 Steem NOT going to a bot.

As we build our bases, and — I would hope — continue to reward active newcomers with our growing SP, we will hopefully be building a larger active base of users. Add in things like the tenkminnows initiatives and others... we might just be the fastest growing subsegment of the Steem user base.

And that has to be a good thing!

=^..^=

Positive words, thanks for that :)

There is certainly a core group, and those here now deserve good times in future.

Problem is that at this rate, we'll eventually run out of redfish to support towards minnowhood... ☹

could it be only 2000 people active here? i feel like i should recognise everyone 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

heh :)

I do, just not all the alts!

They are a curse.

After wandering around on friday and saturday and trying to engage... seems like I only meet few new people and some veterans too.. so I'd say.. 2000.

I think if you find 1/2 new people a week who look like they will stick around then that is rather good!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64258.81
ETH 2772.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65