Stone Circles, Standing Stones, Dolmens - The Neolithic Period

in #hobbyhub7 years ago (edited)

Stone Henge is one of the renowned Neolithic Monuments however there are many scattered across the UK.

Around 4500 (2500BC) years ago in the late Stone Age and Early Bronze Age the world wasn't lead my modern religions but by Mother nature and the Druids. The people of that era lived in Stone Huts and buried their dead in Dolmens or Burial Chambers.

One of my hobbies is visiting these sacred sites. I find them very spiritual places and often believe I have walked the very same steps as the people who did thousands of years ago. I sit, draw, meditate or wait till no one is around and sing and dance around them! I don’t care how crazy I look it makes me happy!

Each sacred site has its own story and tales and each stone is different. I discovered these sites a few years ago and then was introduced to a Book “The Modern Antiquarian- By Julian Cope”

Conwy- North Wales

This one of my favourite Dolmen’s – The Poets Stone- Maen Y Bardd in Welsh. It is set it in the Conwy Valley near Tal Y Fan Mountain. Facing Southwest it has a stunning view over the Conwy Valley and Beyond.

This is a particular busy place in olden times as it formed part of the Old Roman Road which spanned across Wales East To West. The area was a hub for Neolithic Hunters.

This is the view from the Dolmen.

Nearby is this Standing Stone called Cae Coch. Standing stones were markers for the people of the Neolithic Period for directions and general you have arrived at this place.

Dyffryn Ardudwy

These 2 Dolmens are next to each other under 2 Oak Trees- A sure sign of the Druids. It is believed that these would have been covered with rocks and a cairn was formed.

Penmaenmawr

Another place situated just along the Old Roman Road is another hive of activity. Full of stone circles the most prominent being the Druids Circle situated high up on the opposite side of the Conwy Valley.

Up here is also an old Axe Factory where a Stone has been discovered that would have been used to knap the Flint into the shape of an axe.


There is also an old church up here!


This is just a few of the ones I have found and many more lay undiscovered by me.

I hope to find more in 2018. It’s a great hobby to have and it include it with my other hobby of GeoCaching. I posted a blog about geocaching here https://steemit.com/steemiteducation/@pumpkinsandcats/a-full-beginners-guide-to-geocaching

I haven’t posted anymore about ones I have found as I’d like to use them in separate posts

Sort:  

wow I never thought it was wide spread.

They have them all over! Whats so interesting in the way they were made. Scara Brae in Orkney is from he same era yet built completely different.

Some of the ones in mainland Europe are so similar to the ones here in Wales.

Alienssssssss

Congratulations @pumpkinsandcats! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Ooooh I get goosebumps thinking of how people stood on that same ground centuries and centuries ago! This is quite an adventurous hobby, an awesome one to have! Thanks for sharing it with us here at Hobby Hub, good luck and much love, @sweetpea

PS. This would be an excellent post to add to @steemiteducation

Thanks @Sweetpea

I do!!! The feelings and sensations are amazing so deep and natural.

I'm glad you liked it. I was going to do a crochet one but thought i'd pick the hobby I enjoy the most.

On my blog on here I have a few crochet examples too. Save them for another week though maybe.

How do i add it to @steemiteducation ?

Awesome hobby , you are so lucky to be able to visit these places , wow great photos as well ! Thanks for sharing in the #hobbyhub contest !Good Luck !👍✌💕

Thank You! I need to get some planned for next year!

Your welcome !✌👌👍

Congratulations @pumpkinsandcats! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63837.42
ETH 2539.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65