You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Entry for the Hobby Hub Challenge - Miniature Origami using flower petals

in #hobbyhub7 years ago

Wow, that is pretty amazing! I would have to work long and hard to get a regular size crane with regular paper! Amazing!! Do you use needles or something to pull and push the pieces into place? I wonder if you could preserve them by putting them in wax? Really cool hobby!

Sort:  

I started with regular paper and regular size crane as well, and I guess making them smaller is more manageable than making them bigger so that's how the story goes. Not everyone finds origami easy or relaxing, but it has to be the cheapest hobby next to meditation I think :)

I don't use anything other than my own two hands, and in the case of flower petals I have to use a scalpel to cut the pressed flower petals into squares (nature doesn't produce square shaped flower petals I don't think). Here's a video of hospitals using an interesting test as part of their recruitment process (or maybe it is a marketing campaign?):

You can preserve flowers using resin, which is what I think @nature.art does with her jewellery.

Wow that is a pretty intense test to become a doctor! I can't imagine the stress there. Thanks for sharing the video. I can imagine doing it large scale would be difficult! Ha ha - I have never seen square petals before either. Something to keep an eye out for. 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57110.78
ETH 2521.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32