AN INTERESTING HOBBY......

in #hobby6 years ago

GOOD Afternoon fellow stemians and friends,

i have found an interesting and enjoyable hobby here within the last year or so. I have been out of work for medical reasons pretty much since late 2017. During this time i have taken up the hobby of target shooting/gunsmithing and building.

so far I have built two rifles, and have logged many hours at the gun range. I bought a 9mm semi automatic handgun, and i also purchased an AR15 5.56mm rifle. I have since completed two rifle builds, an AR15 PLATFORM 6.5MM Grendel , and an AR15 PLATFORM .300 Blackout .

Each rifle has a different use. The .300 blackout is a great short range rifle bedt effective at 100yds or less. the 5.56mm is a great intermediate range rifle and is best used between 100yds- 400yds, and the 6.5mm grendel is a intermediate/long range rifle and is best used between 200-800 yards. while each of these guns can shoot at longer distances(such as the 5.56 can reach out to 600yds, and the grendel about 1300yds. ) they are most effective in the ranges i've stated. Granted there are variables and exceptions to this, but i am only speaking in general terms, and are distances i've been able to hit myself regularly with a fair amount of accuracy.. I'm sure some of you could be more accurate at a longer distance.

here are pics of my guns:

my 9mm (sorry for the stock pic of the XDm .45 , i don't have a pic of my 9mm stored on this PC)

my 9mm.png

and my 5.56 AR15

wm_9917953.jpg

my 6.5mm grendel (with my own duracote camo job)

34017337_10214423514154651_5858239094282256384_n.jpg

and lastly, my .300 blackout with my own duracote flecktarn camo paint job.

.300 Blackout 3.jpg

I have to admit, building and shooting a gun you built with your own hands is addictive and quite rewarding. Not to mention cost effective. both of my builds saved me about between 2/3 and 1/2 the retail cost of the firearms had i bought them retail.

do you have an interesting hobby? or a few special gun builds you have done? well if so post them here i'd really like to see what you got... feel free to post and comment below...

Sort:  

nice paint jobs! I built my first AR pistol this year and I'm already shopping for parts to build an AR .45 pistol, it's a lot of fun indeed.
I gotta thank @evoman for encouraging me to build my own instead of buying. I plan on doing a post about my first build at some point.

it is just so enjoyable to build something you can use, and with the parts you want not just cookie cutter retail stuff. Not to mention how much cheaper you can build your own if you're not afraid of researching all of the parts yourself and finding reliable sources for parts. for instance, for me to buy a retail .300BLK with the parts i used it would have cost me around 1500.00 , but because i searched for the best deal on the parts , i was able to build it for less than half that cost...

Congratulations @misterd21! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @misterd21! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63966.12
ETH 2753.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66