Drone pilot in NYC…

in #hobby7 years ago

I am a hobby drone pilot in NYC…Living in NYC it’s getting harder and harder to find legal places to fly. I would like to obey the law and fly in approved designated areas but the government is making it impossible. 1 week it’s legal to fly someplace and the next month it’s not…the FAA says you can fly in a park and the Parks department says you can’t. I wish our criminally ignorant government would get their act together and stop overreacting to one so stupid guy with quad and respect the rights of hundreds of other quad pilots.

Example: if 1 person drives his car through a stop light and hits a bus…is that a reason for the government to say no one can drive down this street? Well that what it seems like the government is doing…every time some dumb dumb does something stupid the government takes another park away.

Because of some silly/stupid people and a bad undeserved reputation every honest law abiding drone pilot has to pay. This isn’t fair or reasonable, especially when the government doesn’t even know what a drone is!

Here are some pictures I took at dusk…and another park I can't go flying in!
Phantom1.jpg

Phantom11.jpg

Phantom111.jpg

Phantom1111.jpg

Sort:  

I run photography workshops on occasion. During a night sky event in Morocco one of the guests decided to bring a drone along with them. Little did they know that it is highly illegal to bring a drone into that country. He was lucky to not be arrested, and ended up having his drone confiscated.

I was pondering this as we were sat on top of a sand dune looking over the Sahara and it occurred to me that I was glad. For all the fantastic photography that could be achieved with a drone in that location, nothing would come close to the wonderful feeling of tranquility I experienced up there.

Just imagine if all the photographers had their drones. bzzzzzzzzzztttt everywhere :-D

Yes, I'm aware of international travel with a drone...you can get into big trouble, but my understanding is most countries that ban drones are just looking for some graft...

It's always a good rule to check before you fly...but speaking bluntly some of these back water places have no clue.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 62868.73
ETH 3108.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50