When you have too many hobbies...

in #hobbies6 years ago

legends

This week was a fairly tough one which is why I haven't been very active as of late (more about that later). It was also quite a busy one even though work has been fairly slow. The problem I have been facing is trying to find balance, and spend my time wisely between all of my projects/commitments/responsibilities/sanity/hobbies.

The key phrase is...

Spend my time

We all spend time, some of us more wisely than others. Some spend it consciously, choosing where each and every hour goes and some waste it... letting it pass. Killing time is my absolute least favorite phrase that people use, and I hate even more when people consider it an actual use of time...

Time is precious

You have 1440 minutes a day. You don't get them back, and you can't hoard them for tomorrow. You spend them today whether you like it or not. Imagine you had $1440 deposited in your bank account every day to spend, but it was withdrawn at midnight and then started over the next day... Wouldn't it be wise to use that to its fulleset? How much more valuable is your time than your money. To me... the value is infinite... money sucks, time is precious. If you would treat your money with such high regards, why waste your time so blatantly.

In regards to hobbies

I have found a ton of enjoyment from my newfound hobbies of everything nerd... Comics, toys, customizing action figures, 3d printing... etc. They have taken a substantial amount of brain space, BUT I truly enjoy it. It makes me feel like a kid, and as long as it is not hurting my family or taking time away from them, it's cool. However, I can't do EVERYTHING I love... or have loved... in the past. I haven't had time for many things that previously defined who I was. Concerts, video games, reading, and rock climbing. A few days ago I actually cancelled my rock climbing membership because I was spending too much money monthly and not having time to go.

I don't regret how I spend my time almost ever... it is all about priorities, and making time for what you deem important. I am excited for my future with my family, with some cool new project ideas I have involving 3d printing/actionfigures/nerd stuff... and am always moving forward.

Btw if you can make 3D models let me know

I am extremely interested in possibly commissioning some 3d models to be in turn 3d printed. If you, or anyone you know can do that let me know in comments, or tag them please!

monsterfooter.jpg

Sort:  

You have 1440 minutes a day. You don't get them back, and you can't hoard them for tomorrow.

For many years I have woken in the morning and imagined myself writing a check to the universe that reads: one day of my life and then I rise and get on with my day.

The significance of it is that in my mind I have "spent" that day, in fact, swapped a precious day of my life for it, which helps me seek the best return on investment from that day. At the end of my day right before I go to sleep I review it and ask, was it 10/10? If I say yes then great, if not then I think about tomorrow and what I can do to make it 10/10.

It's a simple process but together with some other concepts it seems to work to keep me focused on owning my days and therefore my life.

That's the epitome of living on purpose. In turn it helps give us purpose as well. I am not nearly so organized in spending my time, but I am definitely conscious of it. I still like to leave room for spontaneity and random fun :)

random fun

This is the best kind!

I think we all get over some things only to fall in love with something else at a different stage or age. I used to love night outs or game nights, these days my eyes can't see properly after 7 pm :D

I don't make 3D anything but I know @artlover does :)

Oh well Yes I do, not professional though :D and I don't have any experience with 3d printing. I was recently creating a simple 3d model for 3d printing but no time. ;((

Oooops! I really assumed you can... :D

i have too many hobbies also but the sport figure customs is really dominating my time now, so I don't really spend nearly as much time on any of the other ones. Plus now Steemit sucks up precious time. :)

As long as your having fun, it's not time wasted! Haha! But I understand about using your time wisely... Some days I do great at it but other days I don't. It really helps to make you feel more productive when you use your time wisely!

Sanity is overrated. (Except the video game.)

You got a 48.40% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @saywha!

Balancing time and projects seems to be something I had to do a lot of lately. Love how you break down time into money to show how valueable it really is.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64448.82
ETH 2646.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77