You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Singlish 新加坡式英語 シングリッシュ | HK-JP-SG Cross-Community Challenge 跨區文化挑戰 クロスコミュニティのチャレンジ

in #hkjpsg6 years ago

hehe I didn't expect anyone to be writing about Singlish in this challenge so this is quite a pleasant surprise!
In the past Singlish was seen to be quite a 'negative english' in Singapore, and referred to people who were not as 'educated'. People used to always tell me to correct the way I speak, and that I should speak proper english. But how the tables have turned haha, now Singlish is being promoted as a cultural asset of Singapore, and academics have also come to figure out the technicalities of the language. So I found that quite interesting haha. Thanks for writing this! :D

Sort:  

I am glad that you like this post! 😊

Ya when I was in Singapore, Singlish is considered as not so good. Indeed it is a cultural asset - imagine Singlish was not developed in the past, then people in Singapore would have more difficulties to communicate. That could hinder the economic growth of Singapore back then (I know this is a bit exaggerated lah... haha.) So Singlish should be well preserved - it is an unique and valuable asset.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59466.22
ETH 2616.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44