Raspberry Pi Shenanigans

in #hivedev4 years ago

raspberrypizero.png

https://www.raspberrypi.org/products/raspberry-pi-zero/

This bad boy came in the mail today.

$40 for the whole kit.
Installed the NOOBS operating system (New Out Of The Box Software).
It's a Linux distribution called Raspbian (specifically for Raspberry Pi devices)
So far I'm really liking this thing.

"So you're trying to sign offline transactions, change your recovery account, and secure your $24000?" (Down from $35000 yesterday)

Does trying to play Nintendo games on it count?

lol

Yeah so I'm trying to download this emulator called RetroPie.
Again specifically designed to play old games using these devices.
Turns out this SD card I bought is too small for that (8 GB).
The operating system takes up the vast majority of the card.

Now I'm trying to format an old 16 GB flash drive and mount it.

I thought I did it correctly but it's not working yet.

Why did you buy the "zero" version.

The Raspberry Pi Zero is the cheapest version.
It doesn't have access to the internet (wifi or otherwise),
which is exactly what I want in a potential cold-signing hardware wallet.

Luckily my girlfriend had a USB splitter.

This thing only comes with a single mini-USB.
Without a splitter I wouldn't be able to use a mouse and keyboard at the same time,
and accessing a flash drive would be out of the question.

Conclusion

I believe this is going to be a very useful device going forward. Not only does it give me the opportunity to gain more experience with Linux and Python, the main goal is to make my Hive account 100% secure against malicious remote hackers.

I could definitely see myself ordering quite a few more of these and charging a markup if the tools I develop end up being super useful and other people in the community want to buy them. Perhaps even an open-source decentralized economy could emerge from these endeavors.

#dreambig

Sort:  

I want to try this one too )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68598.13
ETH 2704.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72