Today's Blog - 25 February 2023 - WEB3 My experience and why WEB2 is currently Superior

in #hivelast year

Hello and Welcome!
Recently I have been experimenting with plenty of posts and so on, with a lot of platforms since I was an older steemit user, I am writing today to express my experience.
It has been years since I last been on Steem, I am generally getting disappointed by the lack of real audience,
to be frank, all we want as content creators is not money but rather... a place to reliably let our content reside and be admired with active feedback regarding our content.
Evidently Steemit was not that place for various reasons, people transitioned to Hive and in Hive there are parties that seem to be gaining authority over the platform for the longest time.
Governance made by Stakes is not true democracy but rather an oligarchy or rather it is a company, which turns the decentralized system back to its own tail and towards centralization in which a company is not actually monitored by the Law itself or governments since it is not influenced by any one government.

AatridicAstralpix1_beautiful_hell_with_trees_in_the_middle_of_a_cbac78e7-6b44-48d4-a245-e0426c40400a.png

In the end I would love to express how grateful I am to all of you who were reading my content regardless, sadly my experience with Hive has taken a downhill, a year later and about 40$ worth of "profit" (which is nothing to glance at as of right now) and of course the only thing that was really obtained is the experience and nothing more.
I started to notice patterns and apparent faults on these crypto-based platforms that most of you should be aware of.
First of all I do not feel like I am the owner of my own content, it feels like the network is since anyone can look at anything I have written at any given point in time and even "fork" it out of the network and into another without my consent.
Secondly it should be apparent that the "richest" shareholders of the network are actually the ones with the real control and influence in a sort of "snowball" effect, which again, does not really feel either democratic nor fair to most of us.
Thirdly, due to the later this can mean that certain individuals or asset holders can conduct cyber bullying of sorts since the only single governing factor of the platform is indeed money and not quality.

I was promised that the places I am writing right now are places where original and quality content is welcomed and praised however all I have witnessed is the opposite of such. I guess this post is meant to shed some awareness over the matter.
Web2 as such is still superior maybe not in transparency nor security but in the apparent ethics that it can hold as well as the obvious ability to be moderated by Law and by the people, yes, people have the equal power to influence content by their seer interest regarding that said content. In a YouTube video people are able to subscribe and keep watching a creator for their original content and the creator in return is compensated by the collective of individuals.
In Web3 the highest shareholders/stakeholders will do that instead of the masses, the same amount of earnings can be made by fewer "votes" however that does not equate to value, and the same is also true, one vote can deduct over a thousand other positive votes with one person holding the influence to be able to do that and effectively hitting the creator's earnings.

AatridicAstralpix1_beautiful_hell_with_trees_in_the_middle_of_a_130f436f-776f-4a6c-8d5d-29cec8fa522e.png

Not only that but the content can only be compensated for only once in its lifetime in such blockchain systems while in Web2 it can be indefinite and rather an investment.
I have noticed the same pattern unfold on OdySee (YouTube-Like Platform residing int he LBRY network), in OdySee you can stake and your videos are more seen so to speak, indeed, it is a clear pay to win scenario.

This is far from progress as it holds back the really talented content creators from reaching their potential, for me those platforms should be uplifting to creators who deserve it and to be able to help them shine as they were meant to be, however they seem to be doing the opposite as they are wasting people's time and money when those people are in hopes of either curating content or producing content.
There is too much obsession regarding quality over quantity as well, however the system itself promotes quantity over quality, meaning that people are inclined to spam content every day to keep earning rather than producing content once a week that has a bigger impact than smaller pieces of content, especially when they are new.
In Such systems (Hive, Steem etc) the main issue comes down to how there is a reliance on earning from the reward pool, while other (Web2) platforms strive into allowing with every year more and more ways to reward people as well as to promote people for their content. Best Examples are seen on YouTube and Twitch.tv where both platforms focus on engagement and creative ways to support the creators effectively and with more than one ways.

AatridicAstralpix1_beautiful_hell_with_trees_in_the_middle_of_a_939cf601-2834-425a-afcb-216f241ccf12.png

The support is necessary in order to help the creators grow and focus on their content rather than a real life occupation at times, of course content creation is its own joy by itself but without positive reinforcement of some sort it becomes rather meaningless.

Personally I have spent hours writing original content on my Hive account and in return I ended up being blacklisted by a group of independent stakeholders who are now downvoting every single post (comments, posts etc) that I make, in a targeted fashion in order to show to me that I am not welcomed, I was told in a Discord conversation that I am not welcomed and then noticed a flood of negative comments, meaning that I was targeted by more influential people of the platform.

There have been occasions were certain activities against me were both unfair and unlawful (illegal) to say the least but I digress.

There is a lot of energy and effort put into creating a post and one single individual with possibly a bank of either inheritance, sponsors or personal wealth of any kind having the ability to negate all that with a single button is far from an idea system.

Something like that would never happen in places like YouTube nor Blogger where I would feel more in control to a certain extent, still not perfect but far superior.

In essence, Web3 is like a Pay-to-Win version of Web2.

Where fairness is thrown out and money is the only visible power, I believe we can do better than that, especially as human beings, this sort of system is far from ideal and quiet a lot of steps backwards.

I have hoped for such platforms to prove to be a better asset to creators, even though I was told multiple times that they are a trap, Sadly I was gravely wrong.

I really wanted to give those systems a good chance or two and I was hurt in the process.

And for those wondering, yes I even invested from my personal savings while having not gained anything towards my real pocket.

With that all said and done, I look forward to moving to a better platform that will work out for me and my people, if you are interested in my content in any way you can find me online on certain places, I wish you all the best and may awareness be your compass in life as it is a necessary asset.

Much Love to everyone and I wish you the best in your life :)


Images were Created with the aid of AI Platforms such as Playground.ai and Leonardo.ai


This Post is Cross-Posted on both Steem and Hive hence why it is posted on my personal Blog Page only.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68140.53
ETH 3250.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65