Steem Skillshare Contest Entry: My Role Model

in Steem Skillshare3 years ago (edited)

0001-6366623522_20210821_174545_0000.png
Source


🍁


It's a real hassle transcribing thoughts into clear and understandable words - for oneself and the readers. That's why in search of a good opening, I have scribbled and scratched a plethora of attempts. More in my head than on paper. Thinking of how best to tell you about my role model.

Role models are often defined as that one person with admirable traits which adoptees emulate. But I like to think of everyone as being role models because there's nobody who doesn't have something to offer. Even villains when constructed gloriously, grow on viewers.

I draw examples of people from different walks of life. It's kind of like having a pallete with splashes of colours - beauty in diversity.
Of course, doing this without having a firm stance might result in an identity crisis or something in those lines.

Among the many models I have taken from, my mum sits at the center. Sensei among senseis.

From an early age, I've felt like she was the best thing to have ever happened to me. Such that when I was doing so badly in school and would feel alone and miserable, she'd tell me kind words. I dared to believe in my failing self. That didn't save my grades but there are other things more important than good scores.

I guess that's a mother's love above all else.

The reason I chose her, Elaine, is because a lot of what I know or am inspired to learn, come from her prompts. I used to hate taking responsibility since I lived a shielded life but she taught me the importance of doing things for and by myself.

If I wanted to attend a workshop of interest, I'd go out there, make my enquiries, and report back to her for the rest.
I struggle with application forms that ask for more than the basic details but when I go through them with her, it's almost a breeze.

I also like how she never does anything halfway. She must go all out, regardless of us calling her extra. Here I am years later, being more than extra.

Life with her is an adventure.

There's nothing like a basic day or a regular outing - like going to her office for instance. I always learn something new. A different route, a new shopping district, vocabulary, dishes, manners, or hacks. The list just goes on.
I know it sounds like I'm painting a perfect picture of her but she isn't without her flaws.

And role models should have their struggles. In the literary world, the conflicts are what make the protagonist relatable. The fact that despite how well things seem to be going for them, they also have moments of weakness.

My role model is a very smart woman. Her ability to evaluate situations and proffer solutions are part of her good work ethics. She is confident, yet so humble. Her heart is kind and thoughtful. You can't be around her and not feel the hospitality.

Of course, I meet and will still meet more people who will impact me in their own ways and I'll always go to that with an open mind.


🍁


As part of the rules, I'll be tagging three users:

@swaylee
@hazmat, and
@fabiha

And mentioning @abu78

Sort:  

Good Work Dear Keep it up

Thank you dear.

Nice one, the way you outline your point is very nice

 3 years ago 

Once again a very pronounced writer has graced us with her writing prowess. I would love to write as elegantly and clearly as you write

Oh Sway... Ever so supportive. Thank you and thank you... And writing is more about your voice. Don't worry, I'll be releasing a post on that soon.

I now look forward to reading your post because whenever I think you've amazed us, you drop another banger. We all need role models in our lives, and I must say your command and way with words really impress me alot. In a way you're also a role model

Awwww @hazmat you're gonna make my eyes pool... ☺️ Thank you so much for your support and feedback. It means so much.

Hi, @stepsbyelven,

Thank you for your contribution to the Steem ecosystem.


Please consider voting for our witness, setting us as a proxy,
or delegate to @ecosynthesizer to earn 100% of the curation rewards!
3000SP | 4000SP | 5000SP | 10000SP | 100000SP

Beautifully written. I'm glad she's someone with such an important role. This was satisfying to read.

Sandraaa! Thank you for the support.

Wow, this is a great entry and indeed I really enjoyed reading your post. You really have a great model and who is worthy of emulation of course. Thank you for your participation in this great contest.

Oh I'm glad it was a lovely read for you. Thank you

I love the way you write @stepsbyelven
More grace to you in the contest

Oh @chibuzorwisdom you're so supportive. Thank you so much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63622.11
ETH 2505.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67