SHOW YOUR POETRY SKILL WEEKLY CONTEST‐ A Dead's man Eulogy ||@samsteem1000

Hello my fellow steemians today's entry is a poem I wrote inspired by Mary Elizabeth Frye in her popular poem Do not weep at my grave written in 1932. Still speaks to me fresh like the smell of Petrichor after a spell of dry season.

images (12).jpeg
Link

A DEAD MAN'S EULOGY

At every point a lesson learnt
As it was said, there is a time for everything
A time to sow and a time to reap
A time to work and a time to sleep
A time to laugh and a time to cry
To be born, to die
Now I look at the memories of my past
Sometimes I laugh, sometimes I cry
I look at every mistake and every accomplishment
All part of the circle of life
I reach out for my loved ones who mourn
Who cry out in sorrow and loss
I laugh because it seems they do not realize
I am here
I am present in the bird calls of the early morning
In the wind that howls through the storm
In the dawn of the newly risen sun
My voice calls out to you in the rustle of Autumn’s leaves

In the soft drizzle of Spring’s rain
I lurk around you; the unseen presence you feel when you are down
The bone deep shiver you feel when you are alone
I am present in the breeze that skims across your cheek
I am present in the soft voice that whispers in your ear when you are at
crossroads with nowhere to go
I have not gone to a place that deserves tears
I simply sit in the kingdom of gold and crowns
Saving a seat beside me for you my child
As I long for when the time shall come
That we shall see again
That you shall sit beside me and relive our memories
That we shall talk about the things we have missed from each other’s
lives
I am gone but not dead
Living, though not here

So do not weep for me at my graveside
I am not there, I did not die

                            ✒Samuel

I want to invite @callytob @ladyofpolicy @sandrakez @liamsorj to participate in this amazing contest.
Thanks to @abu78 for making this a weekly contest.

Cc; @milakz @papi.mati @abu78

Sort:  

Great and lovely poem from you. Thanks for sharing with us such a beautiful poem.🤗

You're welcome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59035.93
ETH 2519.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47