CONTEST : WHICH ENGLISH LANGUAGE SKILL IS THE MOST DIFFICULT FOR YOU? | Nomination from @sampu | Listening English is most difficult for me

in Steem Skillshare3 years ago

Among the four basis skills for learning English - Listening, Speaking, Reading, and Writing - the most difficult skill for me is Listening and understanding.

I belong to a country where English is still used often due to 190 years to British rule. However, I'm from a bengali family and my mother tongue is bengali. In school, we have been taught English since the sixth standard.

Thanks to my teachers, I got efficiency in reading and writing. Further, as I speak English not very fluently, the listeners can understand my english. But the problem happens with listening. I am unable to follow English when spoken very fast or with foreign accents. Specially the American accent is like nightmare for me.

As I work in an IT company, my job role includes attending client calls. It seems very challenging for me to understand and respond there.

To overcome the challenge, my manager has suggested me to watch English news channels like CNN and BBC and understand the news. I'm following that advice and it is helping me indeed.

IMG_20210619_113028.jpg

As per his advice, I'm also reading the Game of Thrones books to increase my vocabulary.



Many thanks to @ftz for reading my post. I invite my friend @beautymondal, @hriya and @makuni to participate in this contest. The photograph used in this post is clicked using my Redmi 9 Power mobile phone.


As a prerequisite to participate in the contest, I have upvoted and re-steemed this announcement.

IMG_20210626_211858.jpg



10% reward of this post is set to Steem Skillshare community account @steem.skillshare.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Thank you for sharing your experience. It is very important for our Community to understand students interests

Thanks @milakz for reading my post and sharing your valuable opinion. I'm really impressed on how the community is helping the Steemitians to learn and improve their knowledge and skillset.

Happy weekend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63968.82
ETH 2633.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84