The Skill That I Want to Have But I Don’t - Self Promotion and creating a following as a freelance dancer.

Hi Skillshare Community,

I saw about this contest recently and I thought this is a pretty cool topic. Thanks @alena-vladi for the opportunity.

I am a self employed dancer and tap dancer, so I often think about how to improve myself and how to close any gaps in skills I have, since a lot of times it is up to me when it comes to getting work.

The skills I want to have but I don't isnbetter self promotion skills.

DSC00066.JPG

I put on a lot of my own events, since it is quite hard to find enough promoters that want to have tap dance on their event.
The problem is it can be quite overwhelming to organise an event, you have to get your ticket link listed, try to send press releases to get some press or even someone to come down and review your event, you have to send a lot of your personal emails, since a lot of friends are only gonna show up if you ask them directly. A lot of people don't want to commit and buy tickets upfront, but that is dangerous, because it makes it really easy for them to not feel like it on the day, and not show up.
you have to do Facebook posts, instagram, linked , a newsletter..... it id quite time consuming.

I wished I had a better routine, a list of contacts prepared, and some type of checklist, so that every time I put on my own event I just do everything on the checklist and don't forget anything and don't get stressed.

There is this notion that if you have 1000 supportive people that really follow you that's enough to make a living, between ticket sales, album sales, overall engagement. It is my goal in 2022 to reach this number.

Also I think time management plays into this as well. Ofter I get stuck with doing one thing, and the self promotional aspect of the job takes a less important role. It is one thing I really have to work on.

Thank you for this opportunity.

This is a video excerpt from my last tap dance event. If you want to support, please subscribe to my channel

Sort:  

Great post! How I understand you. I am a professional musician. I compose songs. It takes time to create music but I can't promote myself. I simply don't have energy and time for this. When you wrote all this it was as if I am writing it myself :)

yeah it really annoys me to do the organisational stuff I feel like I am less creative because of this

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68523.63
ETH 3260.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66