HOW I HANDLED A DIFFICULT SITUATION IN MY JOB||10% payout to @steem.skillshare by @niglys8

in Steem Skillshare3 years ago (edited)
Greetings to all members of the steem skillshare community. I appreciate @lhorgic for organizing this amazing contest and I'm glad to participate as well.

4HFqJv9qRjVeVQzX3gvDHytNF793bg88B7fESPieLQ8dxHcN3MMjY6sJ5WB2QvEcfTAhGR6PmYvrrMwiMx4injtginjuRW2TiDcnjWMgkV3cZQLBFBRx5t2LZxFrguoNkuj8FNXu9b5nETptZJr9nEw3iA9ZnSPhBiv.png
Image source

Introduction

In our different places of work, a lot of happy, sad and difficult situations happens almost everyday. In terms of happy moments in our work place, it could be a job promotion or salary increase while in terms of sad situations it could be a demotion from a current position to a lower position or even a sack from work. And in difficult situations, it could come in form of having a repeated encounter with insatiable or nagging clients or customers. This was the case for me in my job.
So, I'll be sharing with you all "How I handled this difficult situation in my job" and I hope you get to learn from it.

My Job Description

I worked as a secretary in a private secondary institution soon after I graduated from the university in the year 2018. Due to the position I held, I was so much in charge of attending to the needs of parents and teachers. I handled all the admission processes like conducting the admission and schools fees clearance and also distributing the school materials that should be provided by the school for the newly admitted students. And for the teachers, I took records of their punctuality and activeness in school.

The difficult situation I faced and how I handled it

During the admission procedures, the newly admitted students come with their parents who are either not satisfied with the materials like school uniform given to their wards or are always in a haste for them to be attended to very quickly. These parents complained a lot and also rejected the school uniforms sometimes. These made my job very difficult and stressful as well.


Thank God I was able to handle this situation by having a meeting with the school proprietress and pleading with her to include a body size column on the school registration form that was given to the aspiring students so they could fill it up by indicating their body size. These helped me to arrange all the school uniforms according to each body size and it made the distribution of the uniforms to the new students easy and with no much duress. And as for the parents always being in a haste for them to be attended to quickly I typed an information order which i pasted on the door of my office informing the parents to join a queue as they would only be attended to if they obey the order. Trust me, it worked liked magic.


And for the teachers, some were not very punctual to school as the time set by school proprietress was latest 8:00am and anyone who comes later than the set time was punished by deducting an amount from his or her salary. At first I was very strict with this rule on the teachers and at the end of the month, they almost had nothing left of their salary. This made me feel very bad and in turn made the teachers who faulted keep malice for me.


I handled this situation by making inquiries about these teachers and I found out that some of these teachers had families to take care of and also came from a very distant location to school everyday. I had pity on them and also chipped it in to the proprietress to have mercy and shift the time to 8:30am and after much deliberations, She agreed! Thank God! With the new time, every teacher became very punctual to school.


Conclusion

When difficult situations arise in our jobs the approach we use to handle them matters a great deal and this should be with the motive of considering everyone's differences for the situation to be handled amicably.

Thanks for reading!
I invite @patience90 @charis20 @stanleynnah to participate in this contest

Best regards,
@niglys8

Sort:  

Beautiful post and explanation

 3 years ago 

Thank you!

You did a great job.

 3 years ago 

Thank you!

A very good post and I learnt from your experienced and the way you handed such issues

 3 years ago 

Thank you dear.
I'm glad you learnt from it

 3 years ago (edited)

Wao! I love your approach to the issue. Nice entry.

 3 years ago 

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68745.77
ETH 3744.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76