Contest : Which English Language Skill Is The Most Difficult For You by @mashii-zen

As a Sri Lankan, my native language is Sinhala. Although it's not a much popular language, I really proud of my mother tongue as it is a aesthetic and affectionate language. But I believe that learning English is very much essential for our future betterment, when it comes to international level.


Source

My journey of learning English was started from my childhood. There was a English text book for each grade and I read those books willingly, but there wasn't any intention to learn English. At that time I learnt English just because I didn't want to be punished. Even though I didn't study well, I passed all my exams with good grades.

With time I realized that ignoring English wasn't helpful but learning it will. Afterwards I did a diploma in English in University of Sabaragamuwa and my current studies also conduct in English medium. So I think that I improved my skills in English language up to some level, but still I have some difficulties in speaking and other skills. For the contest I prefer speaking as the hardest one for me.

image.png
Source

When considering about the speaking, it's not completely about the knowledge. Though I know I can speak, I'm little bit less confident over it. I try to get rid of it by talking to myself in English. When we have to do presentations I always try to present them without looking at the slides and sometimes me and my roommates plan to speak in English in our hostel room.

image.png
Source

Listening also bit difficult to me when I have to listen speedy speeches with new words and when it about the listening native peoples, I can understand it pretty well. Nowadays I am training my ears to improve my skill by listening to English songs and by watching films and TV series without subtitles.

image.png
Source

I think I'm little bit good at writing but sometimes I lost in grammar rules. And sometimes I really feel bad because I can't express all my feelings in English as I do it with my native language. I must say that steemit give me a opportunity to improve my writing skill and all thanks goes to @sindi for introducing this platform to me.


Source

Finally I'm really happy because there is at least one skill for me to be good. If I asked to write about the easiest one I definitely write about the reading skill.

I invite @hash96, @patz99, @kalz11 and @raji-s to participate this contest. Thank you @ftz for this amazing contest.

Sort:  

Well done. Nice post.

Thank you ❤️

 3 years ago 

I think you are write reading is a way more easier than listening 😉

Yeah.. I also ❤️😁

Maybe we should do more speaking sessions
at hostel.🤭

With thinujan 😜😂

Sure😂😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60265.23
ETH 2324.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55