THE TEACHER I WILL NEVER FORGET BY @hazmat

in Steem Skillshare2 years ago

images (1).jpeg
Image Source

Good day everyone, it is quite refreshing to be back on steemit. This is my first post in a while as I took a break for personal reasons but I'm back fully.

Looking through the posts on the communit, I came across this contest and it made me smile because the first teacher that came to my mind was my teacher Mr Samson Oloko.

Mr Samson Oloko was my Economics teacher back when I was in secondary school and one of my favorites. This sentiment I'm sure was shared by a large number of students in the school.

We as Nigerians have always been under critical economic conditions and it is not always that you make use of your certificates in most cases.

Mr Samson was someone who loved stories, and being a man who was well connected with students he had taught for many years who were in different parts of the world, there was simply no shortage of interesting topics to talk about.

download (2).jpeg
Image Source

I must say his stories prepared a lot of us for what was out on the real world as the reality of Nigeria is that the educational sector is a completely different story compared to what was reality.

Sometimes he took about twenty minutes from his time to tell us this stories and try to advice us. This wasn't fantasy, as they all had a basis in the real world. It could be a story of an intended petrol increase affected the price of rice when he was in the university and how he had to find alternative means to earn extra cash.
Or about stories of his Service year called NYSC where some corpers impregnated secondary school girls under them.

All of his stories had some form of moral lesson and exposure to the world and by telling us he was also sharing his experiences with us.

I have always believed the of a teacher isn't just to impart bookish knowledge, but on how well they can also help to shape your character. In this regard I believe he performed wonderfully well and he will forever remain in my heart for the impact he took in my journey up to this point.

I thank the organizer of this contest @lhorgic for taking me back through this wonderful memory lane and making me remember one of the most important teachers I have ever come across.

For invitations, I am inviting @peacechris who is new on steemit, @cyberking25 and @swagon

Sort:  

Thanks for producing this quality post in the community. Please join our discord channel Discord and join our today's meeting at exactly 21: 30 pm UTC prompt.

Thanks for your entry, please consider delegating or/and joining the curation trail for constant support from our community

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62989.29
ETH 3048.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99