You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My ideas on love.

in Steem Skillshare2 years ago

Love grows, but that doesn't mean that it can also fail. I described a relationship having legs. If you have low respect or low trust, your quantum of love will diminish.

Love is an expression of emotion. It is unlikely anyone would love the same amount.

Loving more than one person is, by definition, normal. The love you have for one child or parent doesn't diminish your love for another. Love isn't to be confused with sexual attraction. One of my favourite love stories is the German movie "Eden."

Our concept of monogamous marriage is likely an artifact of the climate in northern regions. When there is a limited growing season, it's challenging to produce enough for a single family. When you take away the constraints of childbirth, you see a more relaxed sexual culture. I cannot speak from experience, but I understand Iceland might be a good example. It may be similar in Denmark or the Netherlands (I cannot remember which). It is also possible that sex isn't an aspect of love but trust. Advancing from kissing to touching (in my youth) used to lower barriers of distrust. I haven't given it very much thought, but it is possible some cultures will trust you enough to have sex, just not enough to love.

Love doesn't have to do with reproduction. I think it is a personal preference now and frequently an accident in the past.

Same-sex partners do love and sometimes choose to raise children together. I have two children, so at some point, I had the mindset that having kids would enrich my life. Having two men or two women sharing the same opinion makes sense.

Because of our monogamous culture, perhaps some artificial expectations are in play.

A newlywed couple was having a conversation. The wife said, "On Monday, you said you liked sausage and sauerkraut. On Tuesday, you said you liked sausage and sauerkraut. On Wednesday, you said you liked sausage and sauerkraut. On Thursday, you said you liked sausage and sauerkraut. It's Friday, and now you say you don't like sausage and sauerkraut.

I know only so many jokes. Once "she" has heard them all, how can I keep her amused?

I am not sure that there is such a thing as "true love." I picture it as a continuum. For most people, you can only measure a tiny amount of love. Logically, there must be someone with whom you may experience ultimate love. The type of love that your heart swells in your chest at the slightest caress.

Love is such a demanding emotion. Maybe it is enough to find someone willing to scratch in the middle of your back where you cannot reach.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59876.72
ETH 3191.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43