Contest:share and talk about a particular dish that reminds you of home

in Steem Skillshare2 years ago (edited)
Hello guys I’m so happy to be art of this contest thanks @jenesa for bringing it up. I’m happy because I love food 😋

Today guys I will be sharing on koki and how to prepare it , this food reminds me a lot of home because in my home I can count the number of time mom cooked it but most at time we alway but from road side vendors. Lucky for me had to watch mom cook .
I’m a native of the north west region of Cameroon, we so good in cooking in this part of the country.It’s an African dish but cooking method differ from place to place koki is prepared from koki bean.
There are many ways in cooking koki but I like it the traditional way cooked on three stone fireplace using only few spices.

what is koki

FCB088AA-FD9E-41C2-9A67-40F68DA86C4F.jpeg

Screenshot "

Koki is a dish prepared from grind koki beans mixed with red oil (palm oil), salt, maggi, coco leaves or sweet potato leaves and it’s alway wrapped in plantation leaves and cooked by steem

ingredient and procedure for cooking

ingredient and equipments used

  • pot
  • coco leaves or sweet potatoes leaves
  • salt
  • maggi
  • onion
  • water
  • pepper
  • red oil (palm oil)
  • hand grater
  • plantation leaves ( in my native land it’s believed banana leaves when used in cooking give a bitter taste to the food so we alway go for plantation leaves)
  • grinding stone or blender
  • mortar and pestle

procedure

  1. the koki bean is place in water for some time , wash by peeing the bean. Some people peel theirs with the help of a machine to grind while still dry others wash in water with a hand grater while some do it only with their hands.
    After washing very well, you put in a bowl and grind with onion and pepper.
  2. the paste is then transfer into the mortar for mixing
  3. you mix until it’s smooth with the pestle , add your ingredients salt ,maggi etc mix well to have a uniform paste .Add water to reduce thickness
  4. the palm oil is warmed and added into the paste containing all the ingredients
    The level of redness depend on you
  5. then you wrap in the plantain leave
  6. place water in the pot place it on the fireplace
    Since it is been cooked by steem we add the stuck of the plantain leaves into the pot to suspend the wrap paste from sinking down the water cook for about 1-2hours
  7. peel plantain ripe or in ripe depending on you or sweet potatoes
  8. wash and boil
    You either serve hot or cold
    The plantain is use in eating the koki
    Yummy 😋
I will like @stunz @ebuahsang1 @amyjay To participate in this contest
Sort:  
 2 years ago 

this food reminds me a lot of home because in my home I can count the number of time mom cooked it.

So, it becomes your mom's favorite food to cook? That looks delicious, and that leaf you used to wrap is very much similar to our banana leaves here.

😀😀😀😀

Wow! Nice presentation bro

Thank you very much for sharing your recipe on Steem Skillshare. It has been a pleasure to know the dishes of other countries. :)

#affable

Thanks for notifying me
But this write up was me this a dish in which the ingredients and maybe the steps of cook can be in line with anyone’s write up so am surprise you saying plagiarism

My Cameroon brother. I hail you ooh. Your steps are accurate and you had good presentation. Thanks for sharing.. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28