CONTEST : WHICH ENGLISH LANGUAGE SKILL IS THE MOST DIFFICULT FOR YOU?

in Steem Skillshare3 years ago (edited)

Hello Everyone, Um Damith from Sri Lanka!!

It's a different and interesting contest by @ftz. You can try it by here, THE MOST DIFFICULT ENGLISH LANGUAGE SKILL. So, let's give it a try.

My mother tongue is Sinhala, a unique and beautiful language. But only Sinhalese and few other Sri Lankan ethnic groups use the language. So, when it comes to international ordiance, I strongly beleive the value of learning other languages. More the better.

image.png
pixabay

So, from my childhood, I tried to enhance my English language skills. So, out of 4 areas mentioned in the contest, reading is not a big issue for me. I can manage it well. And about the writing, I think um pretty comfortable with that too. When reading my own content, I can be happy about that too.

So, for me trick thing is speaking and listening. But, up to some level, I can manage English speaking. Because it's not all about using fancy words. At the end of the day, I just have to express what's in my mind. The good thing is, I'm the controller.

For me, the challeng is listening. It means, understanding the speaker. Eventhough, someone is so good at speaking, if we can't understand the content, there won't be a proper communication. So, it's major area, I guess.

image.png
src

In the same time we have to listen to it properly, have a good concentration and understand it. Actually, it's not a bigger problem when native or subcontinent people are speaking English. The challenge is when dealing with a accent. It's really harf for me to, catch-up the words in different accents, most of the times. And if I miss the concentration, bam the train will be gone so far away!!!

And the other thing is, I can't control the speaker. He can use all the vocubulary in the world, with any speed. So, it's a real challenge to adjust to all those thing.

I think the main reason for me is less exposure to the language in daily life. I also, watch English movies and Tv series to get use to those key areas in listening and understanding too. But yet it's a slow progress. So, I hope somebody here will give me some good tips too... 😋😋😋

That's my entry for the contest!!! I invite @randulakoralage, @sandupi and @prasadi to join this!!

Thank you!
Best Regards!

Sort:  

Well done! Thanks for your participation.

It's my pleasure!!!

For me, the challeng is listening

Accent always matter. Specially Indian accent is difficult. There is a hindi guy in our office. I ask same question again and again to understand what he said..

Yes. Some specific Accents are difficult to understand.

Yeah!!! It's pretty hard catch the words most of the times

 3 years ago 

Thank you for participating!

In my case, speaking and listeneng both are challenging to me. Listening is not a big deal if the speaker is Sri Lankan. I mean they cannot speak so faster as English overseas people🤭

I also, watch English movies and Tv series to get use to those key areas in listening and understanding too.

I think this is a good way for missing to the difficulties in listening english and understanding english.. I'm doing this too. Progress is slow but have little improvement..... No?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63989.15
ETH 2749.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66