Show Your Poetry Skill Contest | Week Four (4) Contest - 25 STEEM Reward Pool || 10% Reward Goes To Steem Skillshare Community

in Steem Skillshare3 years ago

Much appreciation to @abu78 for making available this contest via which members can showcase their skills. Most importantly, much thanks to @steem.skillshare for making all this possible.



Do I Live Or Do I Die


pexels-joão-cabral-3304855.jpg
Source




It is a dark and foggy night,

And the moon is yet to be found.

Walking down the lonely lane,

I longed for a bask from the missing moon.



I can hear a sizzling sound,

As i approach a clump of shrubs.

I hear the rhythm of my heartbeat,

As it pounces against my chest like never before.



Could this be the day i die?

I can't seem to quit this thought.

O Lord forgive me for i have sinned

That's all i can say at a time like this



Looking left, a flowing river,

And right, a deadly cliff.

Do i go back, or do i meet my end?

O Lord please show me mercy.



Now i pause for a quarter minute,

Although it feels like hours to me.

A cold sensation rushing down my spine,

As i fill my humble self with little faith.



The night begins to defog by the minute,

Until i can finally see the moonlight.

I can tell that my night would be brighter,

As i notice a bright light at the end of the lonely lane.



Falling unto the ground,

I try picking myself up.

Upon raising my head to the sky,

There stands a man stretching forth his hand.



Grabbing hold of his wrist,

Under a trance i was placed.

Now, do i live or do i die

The way of God is unpredictable.


Thank you for this opportunity.
I invite @benjamin09, majerius and shance-light to come partake in this contest

Sort:  

Wow, you are a great poet👏🏽

Thanks bro

You are welcome

I like the presentation. Question is, how is bask a noun here? Oh and what's the theme? How unpredictable life is and not knowing, the day or the hour?

Nice poem makes my heart tremble, beautiful writing, thanks for sharing it.

Thanks for sharing such a great poem. Great entry

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65697.93
ETH 3342.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63